test a speed test that uses NFO pops

This is used for general discussion that is not necessarily server-related.
Post Reply
nyc863
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:24 pm

test a speed test that uses NFO pops

Post by nyc863 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:32 pm

First - nfo is awesome anyone kicking tires should jump in. I don't easily say that.

second I guess many of you guys have pretty fast broadband connections and are sort of interested in all things speed and latency. If so perhaps you can test out a speed test I'm working on, so I can plug any coverage holes?

Run a test (any browser) at http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest
and then please post if you find even in its default setting it isn't able to match your favourite trusted speed test server in download speed or upload speed? but don't blame NFO if that turns out to be the case, just post the link to the "results" page so I can look in the log and work out what it didn't do right.

I'm not finding any issues with the NFO servers at all, so any problems are mine. Definitely.

thanks.

GlenAnderson
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 5:13 pm

Re: test a speed test that uses NFO pops

Post by GlenAnderson » Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:06 pm

nyc863 wrote:First - nfo is awesome anyone kicking tires should jump in. I don't easily say that.

second I guess many of you guys have pretty fast broadband connections and are sort of interested in all things speed and latency. If so perhaps you can test out a speed test I'm working on, so I can plug any coverage holes?

Run a test (any browser) at http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest
and then please post if you find even in its default setting it isn't able to match your favourite trusted speed test server in download speed or upload speed? but don't blame NFO if that turns out to be the case, just post the link to the "results" page so I can look in the log and work out what it didn't do right.

I'm not finding any issues with the NFO servers at all, so any problems are mine. Definitely.

thanks.
I did a speedtest @ speedtest.net here with NFO! http://www.speedtest.net/wave/c02939e9e560e126

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: test a speed test that uses NFO pops

Post by soja » Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:12 am

You missed the point.

The speedtest at dslreports.com uses NFO servers as speed test servers.
Not a NFO employee

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4359
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: test a speed test that uses NFO pops

Post by kraze » Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:09 am

It looks like only one location is actually us(Atlanta), the rest appear to just be Internap. Though, you'll definitely want to be careful about running these from a VDS as the port is shared with other customers.

I did run a few test though and got inconsistent results.
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/335888
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/335871
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/335856
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/335846
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12313
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: test a speed test that uses NFO pops

Post by Edge100x » Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:17 pm

We're still going to be faster than most of the testing sites.

User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: test a speed test that uses NFO pops

Post by TacTicToe » Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:10 pm

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/340169

Got to say I expected a better upstream result. I think the site might be a bit off.
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12313
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: test a speed test that uses NFO pops

Post by Edge100x » Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:39 am

I didn't read this closely enough the first time and thought that you were asking for people to test their NFO service's speeds with a separately-hosted tester. I believe now that you are saying you are hosting actual speed tests on our network.

This may not be something that we can effectively support, for a few reasons:

- Limited bandwidth. If you run a testing service on a VDS, you will be limited to the 1 Gbps network adapter on the machine, which means that if two people are using your tool at the same time, the answer will be off. This could cause the test to misrepresent the client's real speed and/or the speed of our network.

- Performance degradation for other customers. Speed tests are often designed to consume as much bandwidth as they possibly can and get around mechanisms that back off transfer speeds (specifically, some use UDP floods so that TCP congestion-avoidance algorithms don't come into play; others try to compensate for TCP's exponential backoff system by using multiple simultaneous TCP streams and trying to estimate what the real ceiling is). Unfortunately, the nature of this means that other VDS customers on the same physical machine could experience degraded performance while a test is in progress, even if only one person is testing. Normal applications don't cause this same problem. I don't know how your specific test is designed, so I don't know how much this comes into play.

- Support. If hosted speed tests mention us, users may have questions and concerns about their results, but because we don't run them, we won't have answers for them. Some users will see lower speeds than they expect, for instance, and want to know why. This may not be a problem if there aren't many people coming in and we're fixing real routing problems for them.

(Speed tests in general can be a bit misleading because they test the entire path to/from the client and server, which could bottleneck within the customer's ISP, specific peering/transit points of his ISP, or peering between specific NSPs. Many clients don't realize this, and a common misunderstanding is that the single output number represents their overall connection quality or the host's overall connection quality. But, you know that :))

If you wish to run test sites, it would be best to have them on 10 Gbps connections and their own hardware. Our bandwidth (and Internap) will be about as good as it gets for trying to eliminate other bottlenecks, so that component is relatively solid.

I guess we'll have to see how things go and see if these end up being real concerns.

Post Reply