quick CS:S and cd key question

This is used for general discussion that is not necessarily server-related.
Locked
agent420
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 9:46 pm

quick CS:S and cd key question

Post by agent420 » Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:13 pm

we currently have a 1.6 server and had to buy an extra copy of CS for a CD key for the server. We are thinking about adding a source server or changing to one soon.

Will we need to purchase another CD key for a source server?


Thanks for the kick ass servers


http://www.owndbyforce.com

obf.nuclearfallout.net

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:18 pm

no you would not need to get another cd key for a server, we setup the servers on our end as dedicated servers, thus no cd key needed.

simply order on the form whenever you want to add a source server of if you wish to change your exisiting server to source, you would do the same format, but select "changes to existing server"
-Nick

metro
Staff
Staff
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:35 pm
Location: Beaverton, OR

Re: quick CS:S and cd key question

Post by metro » Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:59 pm

agent420 wrote:we currently have a 1.6 server and had to buy an extra copy of CS for a CD key for the server. We are thinking about adding a source server or changing to one soon.

Will we need to purchase another CD key for a source server?


Thanks for the kick ass servers


http://www.owndbyforce.com

obf.nuclearfallout.net
If you own HL2, then you would have CS Source. If you don't own HL2, then you would need to purchase it in order to have CS Source.
Image
metro @ [url=irc://irc.gamesurge.net/nfo-support]#nfo-support[/url]
Somewhere in Texas, a village is missing it's idiot...

agent420
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 9:46 pm

Post by agent420 » Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:20 am

ok, thanks for the info nick

and metro, hehe, yeah i knew that, but we had to buy the CD key last time because the SERVER needed it, not any players 8O good lookin out though :lol:

User avatar
TimeX
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1461
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:24 am
Location: Big Bear, CA

Post by TimeX » Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:01 am

I'm not sure why you needed a CD key for an NFo server, dedicated servers don't use CD keys, only the client side does.
TimeX

Supernuker
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:28 pm

Post by Supernuker » Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:59 pm

I don't think it was a nfo server before, cause he just joined the forums, so I think it was someone else, and that person ripped him off. :(

However I may be wrong.. but then if he did have a nfo server... all I can think of is :?:

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:00 pm

we would never request a cd key for a gameserver for Source.
-Nick

agent420
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 9:46 pm

Post by agent420 » Fri Jan 28, 2005 8:40 pm

we've had nfo for a good 6 months to a year now, and when we first got it we had to get another CD key for some reason, its no big deal though. was just double checking 8O

User avatar
bOoya
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 886
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:46 pm
Location: Corona, CA
Contact:

Post by bOoya » Fri Jan 28, 2005 8:41 pm

Thats pretty weird, I have no idea what you would need a new cd key for. I don't even know where you could possibly enter it in if you did need it.

Locked