Rust requirements

Post Reply
User avatar
J-English
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:06 am
Location: United Kingdom & Canada

Rust requirements

Post by J-English » Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:59 am

What would be the recommended requirements for hosting rust on an un-managed if i was to rent one.

2 or 3 core since is based on source

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Rust requirements

Post by kraze » Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:20 pm

A two core would likely work well. Depending on the size of the server and the background processes you may need to add an additional gig of memory. In my testing Rust was idling at 1.2GB of memory. CPU usage was about 64% normalized.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

theRadAleks
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:07 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Rust requirements

Post by theRadAleks » Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:17 pm

I would go with the three core, just to be on the safe side, as kraze said the CPU usage was about 64% normalized, and i wouldn't want my CPU going over 50% because that's when you usually see performance dips.

User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Rust requirements

Post by TacTicToe » Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:09 pm

Has he released the dedi files yet?
Image

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Rust requirements

Post by kraze » Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:10 pm

Yes, legacy and experimental are available publicly. Legacy is included with the experimental download.

http://rustdev.facepunchstudios.com/dedicated-server
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

User avatar
J-English
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:06 am
Location: United Kingdom & Canada

Re: Rust requirements

Post by J-English » Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:23 pm

I gather the cpu usage will increase with more players upon joining

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Rust requirements

Post by kraze » Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:25 pm

J-English wrote:I gather the cpu usage will increase with more players upon joining
Not always. Rust is one of those games that uses a lot of the gate, but not much more when players join.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Rust requirements

Post by TacTicToe » Thu Oct 30, 2014 7:04 pm

My box is sitting right around 1 gig of RAM used and 3-4% CPU

Not bad considering the developer.
Image

Baron
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 10:02 pm

Re: Rust requirements

Post by Baron » Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:38 pm

Do you guys plan to add Rust support?

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Rust requirements

Post by kraze » Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:51 pm

Baron wrote:Do you guys plan to add Rust support?
Yes, but Rust still has a ways to go before it's going to be considered ready. Garry is constantly changing things on a daily basis which make it hard to support as one day it may be completely broken and the other it may suddenly require a lot of resources. Once it's a bit more stable we should be able to get it added.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

User avatar
markym
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:36 pm
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Rust requirements

Post by markym » Sat Mar 14, 2015 6:54 am

Has there been any discussion of NFO hosting the new Rust Experimental -- the new Rust has come a long way in the last six months and I've been running a server with another provider since NFO doesn't yet host Rust. I'd love to move my rental over to NFO so I hope you will consider looking into adding Rust servers.

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Rust requirements

Post by kraze » Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:54 am

markym wrote:Has there been any discussion of NFO hosting the new Rust Experimental -- the new Rust has come a long way in the last six months and I've been running a server with another provider since NFO doesn't yet host Rust. I'd love to move my rental over to NFO so I hope you will consider looking into adding Rust servers.
Rust is still being actively monitored. I actually run a test server for it and have been keeping a close eye on performance and whatnot.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

theRadAleks
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:07 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Rust requirements

Post by theRadAleks » Sat Mar 14, 2015 9:39 am

markym wrote:Has there been any discussion of NFO hosting the new Rust Experimental -- the new Rust has come a long way in the last six months and I've been running a server with another provider since NFO doesn't yet host Rust. I'd love to move my rental over to NFO so I hope you will consider looking into adding Rust servers.
markym if you want you can run a Rust server on a unmanaged machine here.

User avatar
markym
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:36 pm
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Rust requirements

Post by markym » Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:55 pm

theRadAleks wrote:
markym wrote:Has there been any discussion of NFO hosting the new Rust Experimental -- the new Rust has come a long way in the last six months and I've been running a server with another provider since NFO doesn't yet host Rust. I'd love to move my rental over to NFO so I hope you will consider looking into adding Rust servers.
markym if you want you can run a Rust server on a unmanaged machine here.
Thanks, I'm just not sure I could manage it will all the updates and such that are happening. I rent a minecraft, vent and have me preorder in for Hardline too. All managed servers by NFO because well you guys rock!

Post Reply