Rust IO

Post Reply
bpendz
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 7:35 pm

Rust IO

Post by bpendz » Thu Jul 16, 2015 7:39 pm

Getting this error on a managed VPS here at NFO and well I am pretty sure its because the user doesn't have privileges, but tell me what you think, I can not be the only one who runs rust with Rust IO here.

Code: Select all

[Oxide] 10:35 PM [Error] Installing Rust:IO failed: An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions.

  at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Bind (System.Net.EndPoint local_end) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 
  at WebSocketSharp.Net.EndPointListener..ctor (System.Net.IPAddress address, Int32 port, Boolean secure, System.String certificateFolderPath, WebSocketSharp.Net.ServerSslConfiguration sslConfig, Boolean reuseAddress) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 
  at WebSocketSharp.Net.EndPointManager.getEndPointListener (System.Net.IPAddress address, Int32 port, Boolean secure, WebSocketSharp.Net.HttpListener httpListener) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 
  at WebSocketSharp.Net.EndPointManager.addPrefix (System.String uriPrefix, WebSocketSharp.Net.HttpListener httpListener) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 
  at WebSocketSharp.Net.EndPointManager.AddListener (WebSocketSharp.Net.HttpListener httpListener) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 
[Oxide] 10:35 PM [Warning] CallHook 'OnTick' on plugin 'Rust:IO for Oxide' took: 5879ms
[Oxide] 10:35 PM [Warning] CallHook 'OnTick' on plugin 'Rust:IO for Oxide' took average: 587ms

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12222
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Rust IO

Post by Edge100x » Fri Jul 17, 2015 4:58 pm

We don't know why it gives that error (there is no access permission blocking bind operations), but such sub-services aren't supported on managed/standalone services anyhow, so we have not investigated much further. You will need to run anything that opens up a listen port separate from your managed game server.

bpendz
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 7:35 pm

Re: Rust IO

Post by bpendz » Sat Jul 18, 2015 5:41 am

Yeah its strange how it runs, so I am just going to put it on a different providers dedicated box, and host my other games on the vps here, you guys are great. I am just surprised this isn't common because Rust IO is one of the more popular plugins. O well just is broken as all hell, if I figure anything else out I will be sure to update this.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12222
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Rust IO

Post by Edge100x » Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:10 pm

It turns out that this error is just from Rust::IO defaulting to the same port that we use for rcon. Changing the port that it uses allows it to work fine.

Post Reply