rcon not working

Post Reply
IamRCA
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:55 pm

rcon not working

Post by IamRCA » Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:57 pm

I have tried evey guide on the interent and my rcon password isnt working. ive tried in game and using control panel. it wont set me as owner and it wont run any commands.

User avatar
Vanderburg
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: rcon not working

Post by Vanderburg » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:49 pm

Rust recently switched to use RCON over Websockets in a recent update. This can be accessed here: http://facepunch.github.io/webrcon/#/home

User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: rcon not working

Post by TacTicToe » Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:15 am

Code: Select all

+rcon.web 0
Add that to your command line. Unfortunately the incompetents that are making Rust have decided in their infinite wisdom to force people to use an unsecure web address instead. The above command will work for you, but is eventually going to be removed entirely.
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: rcon not working

Post by Edge100x » Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:28 am

We have finished implementing basic websockets rcon support in our control panel -- it now works like it did before there. If you switched off WebSockets rcon manually because the control panel didn't work right, I recommend switching it back now.

In the near future, we plan to extend this support to sending "save" to the server automatically before it is shut down. That will work around a current design flaw in the game (that it doesn't automatically save when the server is closed, meaning that progress since the last auto-save is lost).

Post Reply