Few questions about unmanaged linux

Ask questions about dedicated servers here and we and other users will do our best to answer them. Please also refer to the self-help section for tutorials and answers to the most commonly asked questions.
Jake
A regular
A regular
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA

Few questions about unmanaged linux

Post by Jake »

Firstly, I am very new to using linux, so I wanted to rent this as a learning opportunity for me.

Every time I use the sudo command, the follow error immediately follows it, annoying, but I suppose it doesn't effect anything.

Code: Select all

sudo: unable to resolve host sleek
Secondly, I am getting permission errors when trying to run an application that is within my home directory. I created a user named minecraft, then placed a folder inside the home folder named minecraft and stuck the jar in there, every time I attempt to run the server, it throws a bunch of errors about insufficient permission. If I run it under root, it runs perfectly. I even installed and 'wgot' all the files through the user, not through root, which I would think would make it so I owned the files.

Additionally to this, how do I switch between terminal sessions? I have setup a teamspeak server perfectly on it, that starts when the computer starts via /etc/rc.local but how would I go in to access it? Once I successfully setup my minecraft server, how do I change sessions to view and use the console?
$atanic $pirit
This is my homepage
This is my homepage

Re: Few questions about unmanaged linux

Post by $atanic $pirit »

First of all whenever you ask help for issues regarding linux then, please don't forget to mention the distro. Different distros have different ways of working and doing things, so knowing that makes it a bit easier to provide support.

If you are having issues with file permission then you can try chown command. What I would recommend is that you use this command from root user.