Killing Floor 2 beta server not running

Ask questions about dedicated servers here and we and other users will do our best to answer them. Please also refer to the self-help section for tutorials and answers to the most commonly asked questions.
markg
A regular
A regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:49 am

Killing Floor 2 beta server not running

Post by markg » Thu Apr 16, 2015 2:08 pm

Killing Floor 2 beta is out, and they have released the steam server info to download and run.

I did the download, and it launches and runs fine ON MY WINDOWS 7 computer.
but it will NOT launch on my vds for some reason, even when I use the exact same files, and same bat file.

any ideas what it could be?

the bat file is the one that is default/part of the download.

thanks for any help; I figure it must be something in windows 8 r2 server that is different from win 7 somehow in a way I don't understand (they are both 64 bit installs)

bat file:

start .\Binaries\win64\kfserver kf-bioticslab?adminpassword=123

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by soja » Thu Apr 16, 2015 2:33 pm

Do you get an error message? I got some directx error, downloading directx fixed it for me.

You can download the DirectX runtime here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... aspx?id=35
Not a NFO employee

markg
A regular
A regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:49 am

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by markg » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:12 pm

no error message

but should not need direct x for a dedicated server....

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by soja » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:45 pm

markg wrote:no error message

but should not need direct x for a dedicated server....
I agree with you, but it was an issue for me and that was how I fixed it. It can't hurt.
Not a NFO employee

markg
A regular
A regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:49 am

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by markg » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:45 pm

just cant really do it on a vds that doesn't have a video card
but thanks for the suggestion

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by soja » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:46 pm

Does the installer give you an error?

There is no actual 3d acceleration going on, it is probably just a dependency that was overlooked for the server binary.
Not a NFO employee

markg
A regular
A regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:49 am

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by markg » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:58 pm

the "installer" is just like every other steam dedicated server, in that it downloads files to a directory.

the bat file to launch it does not give me any errors at all

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by soja » Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:01 pm

I meant the directx installer.

Try adding the word pause to the second line of the batch file. This may allow you to see something going wrong.
Not a NFO employee

markg
A regular
A regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:49 am

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by markg » Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:14 pm

I did the pause thing before I posted

nothing

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12386
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by Edge100x » Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:22 am

Did you also install the x64 VC2010 redist file in the _CommonRedist/vcredist/2010 folder?

markg
A regular
A regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:49 am

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by markg » Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:14 am

it is installed, not sure about that directory though

if you are referring to the one in the steamapps directory (which is a sometimes fix for various issues I understand), I don't even have a steamapps directory on the server install, since I am using only the dedicated server files, and don't have steam installed on the server.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12386
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by Edge100x » Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:29 am

The directory I gave is from the SteamCMD-downloaded KF2 install.

How exactly are you running the batch file? You should make sure to run it from the command-line so that you can see any error response.

markg
A regular
A regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:49 am

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by markg » Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:47 am

im really confused

I cant find that directory anywhere, either in the install that works on my win 7 machine, or in the vds install.

im running the bat from the command line on both machines. that's the weird part, it works on my desktop machine fine, just not on the vds. the two differences are win 7 with video vs win 2008r2 w/o video.

the only subdirectories/files I have in the steamcmd downloaded directory are:
binaries
engine
KFGame
steamapps
kf2server.bat

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12386
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by Edge100x » Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:09 pm

It's strange that it didn't download it for you. _CommonRedist is alongside those other ones for us here.

In any case, it's the standard vcredist_x64.exe file, which you should also be able to get here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=26999

markg
A regular
A regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:49 am

Re: Killing Floor 2

Post by markg » Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:29 pm

maybe you had something left over from the beta?
I started fresh with the early access code.

and I had already installed that file, no change.

Post Reply