TF2 update problem

Ask questions about dedicated servers here and we and other users will do our best to answer them. Please also refer to the self-help section for tutorials and answers to the most commonly asked questions.
Post Reply
Excel Gamers
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:06 am

TF2 update problem

Post by Excel Gamers » Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:06 am

When running the hldsupdatetool command thing it gets stuck on deleting files in the bin. So I tried deleting them my self and it said access denied, can you help?

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12433
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: TF2 update problem

Post by Edge100x » Fri Sep 23, 2011 8:36 am

Do you have the server running? If so, you will need to shut it down before you run the updater.

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Re: TF2 update problem

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:28 am

You will find the game server needs to be off to do most things.

Updating version
Adding new maps (if you have to copy over an old map)
Editing files, you won't be able to save them
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

Excel Gamers
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:06 am

Re: TF2 update problem

Post by Excel Gamers » Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:59 pm

Have been very busy and have had another go at it just now. It is saying that it is all up to date but when I try joining the server I get this message.
This server is using an older protocol than your client.
I can join other servers fine.

Any ideas?

User avatar
TimeX
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:24 am
Location: Big Bear, CA

Re: TF2 update problem

Post by TimeX » Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:02 pm

You could try running the updater again with the -verify_all command. This may help catch files that weren't caught before. The only drawback to that option is that it takes longer to update with it.
TimeX

Excel Gamers
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:06 am

Re: TF2 update problem

Post by Excel Gamers » Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:14 pm

So I would put this into cmd
cd\Game installs
hldsupdatetool.exe -command update -game "tf" -dir TF2 -verify_all

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Re: TF2 update problem

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:54 pm

This is what was in my default .bat file:
title GamePackages TF2
@HldsUpdateTool.exe -command update -dir . -game tf -verify_all
pause
This might help: https://support.steampowered.com/kb_art ... _faqid=638
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

Excel Gamers
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:06 am

Re: TF2 update problem

Post by Excel Gamers » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:36 pm

Problem solved. Thanks to the verify all command.

Post Reply