phpMyAdmin configuration storage

Connect with other users about what to run on your webhosting (and how to run it) here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nightmare Night
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:26 pm
Contact:

phpMyAdmin configuration storage

Post by Nightmare Night »

So I've been trying to enable 2 Factor Authentication to my phpMyAdmin, but due to the limitations within NFO Server's webhosting, I am unable to make the required databases for phpMyAdmin Configuration Storage. Is there by any chance anyone knows a workaround or anything alike?

phpMyAdmin's warning:

Image

Support Member James' explanation on why I had to come to the forums:

Image

phpMyAdmin's documentation on how to setup phpMyAdmin configuration storage
Image

Thanks ahead of time,

Nightmare Night
Last edited by Edge100x on Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image of James' answer directed to the forums and did not say that it was not possible
User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12945
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: phpMyAdmin configuration storage

Post by Edge100x »

From what you posted, it looks like you just need to enable configuration storage to get past that particular error. From the description of how to use it, it sounds like it is supposed to be enabled by default but that you also may be able to edit config.php.inc and add:

Code: Select all

$cfg['ZeroConf'] = true;
If that doesn't work, then you'd have to go with the manual option, including using their script to import the appropriate tables and setting variables like $cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] and $cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'].

https://docs.phpmyadmin.net/en/latest/s ... ked-tables is the link to the live PMA documentation on this.
User avatar
Nightmare Night
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: phpMyAdmin configuration storage

Post by Nightmare Night »

So I'm going to try that first option, but upon looking at my config.inc.php I've found this selection of code within.

Code: Select all

/**
 * phpMyAdmin configuration storage settings.
 */

/* User used to manipulate with storage */
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlhost'] = '';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlport'] = '';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'pmapass';

/* Storage database and tables */
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma__bookmark';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma__relation';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma__table_info';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma__table_coords';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma__pdf_pages';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma__column_info';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma__history';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_uiprefs'] = 'pma__table_uiprefs';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['tracking'] = 'pma__tracking';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['userconfig'] = 'pma__userconfig';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['recent'] = 'pma__recent';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['favorite'] = 'pma__favorite';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['users'] = 'pma__users';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['usergroups'] = 'pma__usergroups';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['navigationhiding'] = 'pma__navigationhiding';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['savedsearches'] = 'pma__savedsearches';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['central_columns'] = 'pma__central_columns';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_settings'] = 'pma__designer_settings';
// $cfg['Servers'][$i]['export_templates'] = 'pma__export_templates';

/**
 * End of servers configuration
 */
Think that if I were to change the "$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';" to a different database, I could override the database it looks at?

EDIT: Turns out adding "$cfg['ZeroConf'] = true;" did not do anything in my benefit within phpMyAdmin
User avatar
Nightmare Night
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: phpMyAdmin configuration storage

Post by Nightmare Night »

So I figured it out, but my a tad bit confused on how I did. But I'll try my best to explain it for anyone else who needs help with it.

Basically I uncommented all the code below /* Storage database and tables */ created my own database with my account prefix:
Example:

Code: Select all

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'nfoaccount_phpmyadmin';

then uncommented controluser and controlpass and changed the pma account stuff to my nfo account.
Example:

Code: Select all

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'nfoaccount';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'nfoaccountPassword';
Then after all of this, I was told by phpMyAdmin that the configuration page wasn't correct, then told me to go to the database I created, then go to operations tab, then click the error that generated at the top of the page.
Post Reply