Wordpress MultiSite feature help

Connect with other users about what to run on your webhosting (and how to run it) here.
Post Reply
Racer
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:04 am

Wordpress MultiSite feature help

Post by Racer » Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:14 am

okay, So I tried searching for this on here for help, but no luck. So I am posting here.

My issue is not knowing how to properly do a wildcard for a domain/subdomain. It is required for doing a multisite (in my opinion) the proper way.

So to back it up a bit, here is what Wordpress MultiSite feature does. You can create multiple websites under the same instance of the wordpress installation. You have two options:
  • 1.) To use subdomains, so everytime you make a new site, it will generate a subdomain to point to that instance of Wordpress.
  • 2.) To use sub directories, so just like option #1, it just creates another folder under the main install of wordpress.
So my issue is as I stated is making a wildcard domain/subdomain on here however. I see so many tutorials for cPanel, I tried using a few tools at my disposal but was not successful.

Here is a link to the tutorial I was using to setup the multisite feature: https://wpbuffs.com/wordpress-multisite/

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12218
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Wordpress MultiSite feature help

Post by Edge100x » Sat Aug 17, 2019 1:36 am

If this is in our regular webhosting system, we don't support catch-all/wildcard subdomains through our control panel. To use a wildcard subdomain, you'd need to switch to an unmanaged VDS.

Racer
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:04 am

Re: Wordpress MultiSite feature help

Post by Racer » Sat Aug 17, 2019 4:54 am

That is what I was asking, thanks sir!

Post Reply