Using My .com For Your Hosting

Connect with other users about what to run on your webhosting (and how to run it) here.
Moos3d
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:26 pm

Using My .com For Your Hosting

Post by Moos3d » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:00 pm

Well, I believe I did the everyDNS thing correctly but here is a screenshot to make sure it is correct.

[img=http://img214.exs.cx/img214/7488/sniper0329ma.th.png]

There is a picture if someone can check.

So, I read I was supposed to email you about this but I couldn't find any contact so I'm posting it here. My nuclearfallout site is phoogi.nuclearfallout.net.

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:02 pm

at the place you registered your domain, did you set the nameservers to everydns as the picture shows to?

the place to email is rentals @ nuclearfallout.net (minus the spaces)
-Nick

Moos3d
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by Moos3d » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:09 pm

I haven't yet. I registered with godaddy and they have domain forwarding, is it possible to just use that or will that not work?

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:11 pm

Moos3d wrote:I haven't yet. I registered with godaddy and they have domain forwarding, is it possible to just use that or will that not work?
its best to use the cname, don't have domain forwarding on.

go to nameserver settings and set ns1.everydns.net, ns2.everydns.net, ns3.everydns.net etc

then make sure you email us :)
-Nick

Moos3d
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by Moos3d » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:14 pm

Ok, set the nameservers so I'll email now. Did the everyDNS screenshot look correct?

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:17 pm

Moos3d wrote:Ok, set the nameservers so I'll email now. Did the everyDNS screenshot look correct?
looks good, since its similar to http://rentalforums.nuclearfallout.net/ ... php?t=1709

now gotta wait for DNS servers to update and propagate
-Nick

Moos3d
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by Moos3d » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:18 pm

Thanks for the help. How long should I expect this to take until it's working properly?

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:29 pm

you should see it change to the NuclearFallout portal if everything set wise in GoDaddy and everydns around 24-48 hours depending on some ISPs, but usually much less than that.

If the settings on our side is in place, then it would be going to your space.
-Nick

Moos3d
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by Moos3d » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:37 pm

Well, I'm talking to someone through email about this but since you know what I did better than he does I thought you could help me with this.
You would just need to set up phoogi.com as a CNAME also, just like what you
did with http://www.phoogi.com.

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:39 pm

if you look at my tutorial, you can see that I have setup cname for both the domain.com and the *.domain.com if thats what he referring to in the email

just add another cname, as phoogi.com set to hosted.nuclearfallout.net

read the tutorial if you haven't already
Last edited by Nick|NFo on Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-Nick

Moos3d
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by Moos3d » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:40 pm

Yeah, just did that. Read the tutorial the first time but for some reason I ended up with only 1 host which was *.phoogi.com.

Moos3d
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by Moos3d » Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:24 pm

Well, it's still not working. I set the cname for both *.phoogi.com and phoogi.com, I set the nameservers on godaddy to the everydns, I talked to someone through rentals@nuclearfallout.net and they said it was all set on their part. Any idea why it still isn't up?

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:28 pm

make sure godaddy doesnt have your domain locked somehow

the domain doesn't respond at all currently
-Nick

Moos3d
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by Moos3d » Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:43 pm

Well it was locked. Now it is unlocked. Still no luck though.

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:51 pm

you have to unlock it before you change nameservers

make sure the nameservers are correct now, or reset them.

From Godaddy site:
Locking your domain prevents changes to contacts and name servers. It also prevents the domain name from being transferred to another registrar. You may lock or unlock your domain at any time by using this page.
-Nick

Post Reply