Easy setup

News for the main page
Post Reply
User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12478
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Easy setup

Post by Edge100x » Thu Nov 25, 2004 1:54 pm

Our control panel has taken a leap forward in usability today with the addition of a beta version of our new "Easy setup" tab.

This tab, which currently can only be used for Half-life based servers like Counter-strike, supports many common operations such as changing the server name and password, adding admins, and changing the mapcycle, all in one page.

izZy
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:57 pm
Contact:

Post by izZy » Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:30 pm

and edge just keeps coding away and away...... good work edge and how much can u bench press?
-izZy

Supernuker
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:28 pm

Post by Supernuker » Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:17 am

I bet someday we will only have to press one button to install mods like warcraft 3.

User avatar
bOoya
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 886
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:46 pm
Location: Corona, CA
Contact:

Post by bOoya » Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:25 am

Actually, that probably wont happens since there are so many different versions of warcraft3 mod. plus the authors of said mods release so many updates and bugfixes that it would be hard to keep up. Easier to handle those installs on an individual basis IMO.

simoncastillo
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:37 am

Post by simoncastillo » Sat Nov 27, 2004 12:49 am

Supernuker wrote:I bet someday we will only have to press one button to install mods like warcraft 3.
I think this is all possibly.

It make me remember my hosting cpanel (not nfo) ... it have a feature named "Fantastico" it install for you everything, phpnuke, postnuke, phpbb, and much much much moreeee

Of course they aren't on the last realease like phpnuke on 7.6 or phpbb on 2.10 but... why we don't do that (well john... my hero ö)? I know it is hard but if john make a tab where you can install with one click metamod, to start... after you do that you have the posibilitie to instal admin mod, amx or amx x mod... if you select one of them you can install famous plugin of them... like csdm or something.

As booya said wc3 release so many versions... well lets take a version work with it and in a month or 3 month or in a "critical" update john just update it.

This could happen!

Go NFo or Go Home.

Here a images of my cpanel fantastico and something i just make for fun:

http://radicalg.9tx.net/Untitled-1.htm

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Sat Nov 27, 2004 2:02 am

lol some very nice graphics you got there

thats sorta the idea we got into the easy setup page, the installs are at the bottom and then you can edit it afterwards

in your examples you have the setup streamlined all into one, but when you want to edit it at a later date, thats where the current setup comes in, which proves to be best as in usefulness in making modifications to the mods as well as adding admins.
-Nick

simoncastillo
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:37 am

Post by simoncastillo » Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:22 am

well i'm east and was 5am and I 'wanted to sleep :p

User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo » Sat Nov 27, 2004 9:02 am

its an idea that could be added on to the add plugin section at the bottom of the easy setup page as part of that process, then for later editing use the current easy setup page

that would be up to Edge to implement if needed :idea:
-Nick

User avatar
human_shield256
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:49 am
Contact:

Post by human_shield256 » Wed Dec 08, 2004 6:27 am

We've been haveing some problems with the easy set up not syncing the user.ini's in the amx and amx_mod-x folders.

Also when we turn on allow voteing in there it double votes, and first one doesn't matter.

Other than thoes things verry nice.

Were also running vexed and deadchat but dont think they would have affected any of thoes.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12478
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Edge100x » Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 am

If you find bugs in the beta, please email us with the specifics instead of posting them here.

What you describe with AMX/AMX Mod X is not actually a bug. It will not set up both AMX and AMX Mod X, because it does not expect you to be running both (nor should you be). Instead, it only changes settings on the active mod, or if both are active it just changes settings on AMX Mod X.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12478
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Edge100x » Thu Dec 16, 2004 7:11 pm

This has now been expanded to Source servers.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12478
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Edge100x » Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:02 am

And expanded to HLTV servers.

Post Reply