Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

News for the main page
Post Reply
User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by Edge100x » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:28 am

We've dropped the price on all dedicated server configurations that we offer, and we've added a new option to the list at some locations -- an E3-1270v3 machine.

The E3-1270v3 processor is 5-15% faster than our previous top contender, the E3-1270v2, and we've coupled it with 32 GB of DDR-1600 memory, a 240 GB Intel SSD, a 2 TB hard drive, and plenty of Internap bandwidth.

If you have a dedicated server with us already, please contact us via your control panel so that we can take a look at your package and manually adjust the price downward to save you money on future months!

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by soja » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:17 pm

How would managed on these work? with the 2 drives? I remember you saying SSD options isn't available to managed vds's because you can't choose which drive to use(correct me if im wrong), does the control panel now offer these options?

v3 is a little too beefed up for us :( 16GB with just a SSD would be perfect for my uses, but I understand why you like to keep all configurations identical.
Not a NFO employee

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by Edge100x » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:25 pm

The SSD on a VDS is too small to use with our managed system, but we can set up managed customers to use the SSD on a dedicated machine.

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by soja » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:27 pm

Was thinking that when I was writing up the post haha.

Does that mean managed chooses one or the other, they cannot use both?
Not a NFO employee

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by Edge100x » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:40 pm

Correct, it is either one or the other.

User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by TacTicToe » Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:28 pm

Might want to add, not available in all locations. :?
Image

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by soja » Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:09 am

Edge100x wrote:We've dropped the price on all dedicated server configurations that we offer, and we've added a new option to the list at some locations -- an E3-1270v3 machine.
Not a NFO employee

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by Edge100x » Sun Aug 25, 2013 8:34 pm

We are working to expand availability to more locations, but it's taking a bit of extra time due to capacity concerns with the datacenters. For the most part, these should be resolved soon.

Sim
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:02 am

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by Sim » Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:12 am

Edge, do you have ETA on E3-1270 @ Dallas location?

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Price cuts and new dedicated server option: E3-1270v3

Post by soja » Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:16 am

Sim wrote:Edge, do you have ETA on E3-1270 @ Dallas location?
I don't think NFO is deploying new 1270's, so you would probably need to wait for someone to cancel their machine to buy one up. This is what I was told for Chicago.
Not a NFO employee

Post Reply