Newbie Server Admin!

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12387
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Edge100x » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:36 am

The map list is created with the same map at the top twice, but the game is told to start the cycle at the second one. This is to get around an obscure bug in the game.

Similarly, any map in your cycle to be played is only listed once, to get around another bug in the game, and any map that could be chosen randomly is listed, for each mode it might run in, to make Battlelog understand what might be played.

The cycle is refreshed after every map load, so it's not actually used as you see it in the commands. It's confusing when you watch the rcon output, but everything actually runs correctly.

Zipperbag
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Zipperbag » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:04 am

thank you!

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:10 pm

You can't have the same map repeated in the list.

mapList.add mp_subway conquestsmall0 2
mapList.add mp_subway conquestsmall0 2

It will just in this case, play the 1st map, go to the 2nd map, and at the end of the 2nd map, it assumes it's really the 1st map, and then uses the 2nd map again as the next map. It's actually an infinite loop the will only play mp_subway.

It's a bug in the game were we are not able to repeat maps in the list.
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12387
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Edge100x » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:33 pm

Pain, supposedly that is fixed now, but yes, the way the cycler works is meant to get around bugs like this. Another bug was that the cycle wouldn't wrap properly, and another that it wouldn't reset the round count after loading a new map.

Zipperbag
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Zipperbag » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:00 pm

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain wrote:You can't have the same map repeated in the list.

mapList.add mp_subway conquestsmall0 2
mapList.add mp_subway conquestsmall0 2

It will just in this case, play the 1st map, go to the 2nd map, and at the end of the 2nd map, it assumes it's really the 1st map, and then uses the 2nd map again as the next map. It's actually an infinite loop the will only play mp_subway.

It's a bug in the game were we are not able to repeat maps in the list.

Major Pain, Im not attempting to list the same map twice. Ive deleted the contents of maplist.txt, and reapplied the mapcycle, which brings up one map (think its the first map listed).

If I perform the !nextmap command, I get the maplist.txt that is posted. (It not only shows on Origin the first map twice, but appears to play it twice) Now I did originally edit the maplist.txt file and all appeard to work exactly as intended. But I would think when the Server reboots, it will reapply what is the original files per say

Im not sure if youll be able to see the uploaded picture (sorry limit is 600x3200). But here is current text Server Control:

Command from rcon tool: !nextmap
admin.listPlayers all
mapList.runNextRound
server.onLevelLoaded XP2_Office SquadDeathMatch0 0 1
serverInfo
mapList.clear
mapList.add xp1_003 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp1_003 squadrush0 2
mapList.add mp_013 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_skybar domination0 1
mapList.add mp_017 squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_subway conquestlarge0 2
mapList.add xp2_office squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp1_003 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_palace domination0 1
mapList.add mp_007 conquestlarge0 1
mapList.add xp2_office domination0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_017 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add mp_subway squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_palace squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp1_002 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory domination0 1
mapList.add mp_001 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp1_004 squadrush0 2
mapList.add mp_subway conquestsmall0 2
mapList.add xp2_skybar squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_011 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp1_001 conquestassaultsmall0 1
mapList.save
mapList.setNextMapIndex 1
serverInfo
serverInfo
serverInfo
serverInfo
serverInfo

Now if I select !nextmap, it becomes: (actually had to type !nextmap twice)


Command from rcon tool: !nextmap
admin.listPlayers all
mapList.runNextRound
serverInfo
server.onLevelLoaded XP1_003 SquadRush0 0 2
serverInfo
serverInfo




Command from rcon tool: !nextmap
admin.listPlayers all
mapList.runNextRound
server.onLevelLoaded XP1_003 SquadRush0 1 2
serverInfo
mapList.clear
mapList.add xp2_palace domination0 1
mapList.add xp2_palace domination0 1
mapList.add mp_013 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_skybar domination0 1
mapList.add mp_017 squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_subway conquestlarge0 2
mapList.add xp2_office squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp1_003 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_palace domination0 1
mapList.add mp_007 conquestlarge0 1
mapList.add xp2_office domination0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_017 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add mp_subway squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_palace squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp1_002 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory domination0 1
mapList.add mp_001 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp1_004 squadrush0 2
mapList.add mp_subway conquestsmall0 2
mapList.add xp2_skybar squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_011 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp1_001 conquestassaultsmall0 1
mapList.save
mapList.setNextMapIndex 1
serverInfo
serverInfo

Im almost thinking that the 2nd !nextmap was required because of an instance of a rush map.

Here is current maplist.txt file:

XP2_Palace Domination0 1
XP2_Palace Domination0 1
MP_013 SquadRush0 2
XP2_Skybar Domination0 1
MP_017 SquadDeathMatch0 1
MP_Subway ConquestLarge0 2
XP2_Office SquadDeathMatch0 1
XP1_003 SquadRush0 2
XP2_Palace Domination0 1
MP_007 ConquestLarge0 1
XP2_Office Domination0 1
XP2_Factory SquadDeathMatch0 1
MP_017 ConquestSmall0 1
MP_Subway SquadRush0 2
XP2_Palace SquadDeathMatch0 1
XP1_002 ConquestSmall0 1
XP2_Factory Domination0 1
MP_001 ConquestSmall0 1
XP1_004 SquadRush0 2
MP_Subway ConquestSmall0 2
XP2_Skybar SquadDeathMatch0 1
MP_011 ConquestSmall0 1
XP1_001 ConquestAssaultSmall0 1

p.s. Im almost okay w playin an extra rnd of Metro, but some maps, not so much really. If you care to join server, while I rotate maps, for any input/guidance. It would be much appreciated. Im a bit tired, but hope you can understand my post.

Thank you!

Zipperbag
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Zipperbag » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:29 pm

here is mapcycle abbreviated:
sqd r Dam 2
con dom Zib 1
sqd dm Nos 1
con64 sub 2 <<Conquest64 Metro two rnds
sqd dm 925 1
sqd r Sharqi
con dom Donya 1
con casp 1
con dom 925 1
sqd dm scrap 1
con nos 1
sqd r sub 2
sqd dm donya 1
con gulf 1
con dom scrap 1
con grand 1
sqd r wake 2
con sub 2 Conquest Metro two rounds
sqd dm ziba 1
con seine 1
con Strike 1

If youll notice, I do have two rounds of Conquest Metro, and two rounds of Conquest64 Metro. Its only an issue if say Ziba Tower Domination plays twice, which I thought for sure had happened before. Ive had some input as of late for changes in map rotation, and I thought perhaps I was making a mistake. But for instance, I just ran the command for !nextmap a few times, and Conquest Domination 925 ran twice (No clue why)

Now I almost know for fact that one of the Metro maps played twice as intended, but what am I doing wrong for the Office Dimination map to play twice?

Zipperbag: !nextmap
admin.listPlayers all
mapList.runNextRound
server.onLevelLoaded XP2_Office Domination0 0 1
serverInfo
mapList.clear
mapList.add xp2_office domination0 1
mapList.add xp2_office domination0 1
mapList.add mp_013 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_skybar domination0 1
mapList.add mp_017 squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_subway conquestlarge0 2
mapList.add xp2_office squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp1_003 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_palace domination0 1
mapList.add mp_007 conquestlarge0 1
mapList.add xp2_office domination0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_017 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add mp_subway squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_palace squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp1_002 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory domination0 1
mapList.add mp_001 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp1_004 squadrush0 2
mapList.add mp_subway conquestsmall0 2
mapList.add xp2_skybar squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_011 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp1_001 conquestassaultsmall0 1
mapList.save
mapList.setNextMapIndex 1
serverInfo
Zipperbag changed teams; he is now on team 1 and squad 1
Zipperbag: !nextmap
admin.listPlayers all
mapList.runNextRound
server.onLevelLoaded XP2_Office Domination0 0 1
serverInfo
mapList.clear
mapList.add xp2_factory squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_013 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_skybar domination0 1
mapList.add mp_017 squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_subway conquestlarge0 2
mapList.add xp2_office squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp1_003 squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_palace domination0 1
mapList.add mp_007 conquestlarge0 1
mapList.add xp2_office domination0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_017 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add mp_subway squadrush0 2
mapList.add xp2_palace squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add xp1_002 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp2_factory domination0 1
mapList.add mp_001 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp1_004 squadrush0 2
mapList.add mp_subway conquestsmall0 2
mapList.add xp2_skybar squaddeathmatch0 1
mapList.add mp_011 conquestsmall0 1
mapList.add xp1_001 conquestassaultsmall0 1
mapList.save
mapList.setNextMapIndex 1
Zipperbag changed teams; he is now on team 2 and squad 1
serverInfo
serverInfo
serverInfo
serverInfo
serverInfo

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12387
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Edge100x » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:39 pm

Did you implement a new mapcycle right before trying this? That can break things. Also, if you restarted the server, of course.

Zipperbag
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Zipperbag » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:12 am

I would imagine its quite possible, but I have tried several methods. I believe Origin is down right now, so I cant really make any changes in-game (I could use the Server Control maybe?) But if possible could you recommend some rather specific steps ie. stop server, delete maplist, and either start server or "commit changes" and then start Server?

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:02 am

After reading your post, you clear the map list, and then the next 2 lines is adding the same map. You say your not, but that's what I am seeing.

mapList.clear
mapList.add xp2_palace domination0 1
mapList.add xp2_palace domination0 1


In maplist:
XP2_Palace Domination0 1
XP2_Palace Domination0 1
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

Zipperbag
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Zipperbag » Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:38 am

I hope Im not adding to any confusion, but I havnt performed any step but !nextmap The step you mention clear the map list, happens (for me at least) as a result of the function !nextmap (or at least I believe anyway) I forget really

Heres the steps Ive taken I moved one of the Metro maps up (so now first two maps play twice) I cleared the maplist.txt, and restarted Server. This is what is entered under Mapcycle:

1)Conquest64 Subway 2
2)Squad Rush Damavand Peak 2
3)Conquest Dominator Ziba Tower 1
4)Squad Deathmatch Noshar Canals 1
5)Squad Deathmatch Operation 925 1
6)Squad Rush Sharqi Peninsula 2
7)Conquest Dominator Donya Fortress 1
8)Conquest64 Caspian Border 1
9)Conquest Domination Operation 925 1
10)Squad Deathmatch Scrapmetal 1
11)Conquest Noshair Canals 1
12)Squad Rush Subway 2
13)Squad Deathmatch Donya Fortress 1
14)Conquest Gulf of Oman 1
15)Conquest Domination Scrapmetal 1
16)Conquest Grand Bazaar 1
17)Squad Rush Wake Island 2
18)Conquest Subway 2
19)Squad Deathmatch Ziba Tower 1
20)Conquest Seine Crossing 1
21)Conquest Assault 2 Strike at Karkland 1

Please post any steps to check for correct function of map rotation

Zipperbag
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Newbie Server Admin!

Post by Zipperbag » Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:58 am

Morning!

Edge, I think im gonna just let server run for a few days. I mean I dont quite understand how the map roation page on Origin shows the Metro map (only) at startup, but then somehow after playing initial rnd, the rotation shows two instances of Gulf of Oman.

I mean if all looks right to you, maybe its best to not make any changes. I realize I could turn off the map feature, but really like the idea of pulling up any map!

Thank you for help, and patience!

Post Reply