Issues with server name

Post Reply
.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Issues with server name

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:52 pm

I have changed the server name and saved the settings and it takes.
But when I restart the server, it reverts back to an old server name.

I created a new startup file through Procon which includes the server name variable, and I saved it in the startup file. But when I restart the server, it removes the server name variable, and reverts the server name again back to an old server name.

Why is the new server name not sticking.
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

User avatar
TimeX
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:24 am
Location: Big Bear, CA

Re: Issues with server name

Post by TimeX » Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:55 pm

The server name setting on the "Easy setup" page in the control panel saves in a different location than the startup.txt file. If the name is set in both places, they will conflict. You will need to use the "Easy setup" page exclusively for the server name, and remove it from the startup.txt file.
TimeX

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Issues with server name

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:24 pm

Well something seems to be wrong with your control panel.

Server name variable is not in the startup file.
I changed the server name on the easy setup page and saved, and it did change the name.
Restart the server, and it again goes back to the old server name.

I rechecked the startup file and the server name variable wasn't there.

I deleted the entire startup file and restarted, and the name change sticks.

Problem appears to be that the server name var is invisible in the startup file after restart and keeps changing the server name.
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Issues with server name

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:29 pm

Ok - I don't know what the hell's going on.

Startup file is empty.
Changed server name on easy page and saved and it changed on battlelog.
Restarted the server and it's back to the old server name again.

Your control panel has to be screwed up.
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

User avatar
TimeX
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:24 am
Location: Big Bear, CA

Re: Issues with server name

Post by TimeX » Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:35 pm

As I mentioned in my first reply, the control panel saves the server name in a *different* file than the startup.txt file. More specifically, it saves to a file that EA does not allow access to. This is why it should be saved in the control panel only and not via the statsup.txt file or any 3rd party tool (such as Procon). There will be conflicts otherwise.
TimeX

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12389
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Issues with server name

Post by Edge100x » Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:54 pm

If the server is not remembering the name on the "Easy setup" page, that would be extremely odd, because the "Easy setup" page reads directly from the same file that the server reads to set the name (which isn't Startup.txt in this case, as TimeX mentioned). Are you sure that you don't have another utility that is altering the name after the server is restarted?

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Issues with server name

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:57 pm

Think I might know what it is.
Might be changing by gameME.
But odd since I cancelled it.
Will have to look into it.

Thanks guys.
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

User avatar
=MSG=Sundance
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:05 pm
Location: São Paulo-SP Brazil
Contact:

Re: Issues with server name

Post by =MSG=Sundance » Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:15 am

Some tools like rconnet have an option that commands the setup of the server, no matter you change everything inside Easy Setup.

You can change the rcon pw, if the problem get solved, you have somtehing connected to your server.
Image
=MSG= powered by Nuclear Fallout
www.midnightsg.net
facebook.com/MidnightSG

.=QUACK=.Major.Pain
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Issues with server name

Post by .=QUACK=.Major.Pain » Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:24 am

Don't matter - Cancelled our server.
Visit gspreviews.com And Rate & Review Your Old & Current GSP's
Find Your GSP Coupons at gspreviews.com/coupons/

Post Reply