AK: Server crashes

Post Reply
jaythegreat1
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:49 am

AK: Server crashes

Post by jaythegreat1 » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:53 pm

Anyone's server crashing with the new maps, ours just crashed a few minutes ago.
Image
Chill n Kill Gaming - http://www.cnkgaming.com

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by TimSad » Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:57 pm

None for me so far...
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

User avatar
woowoo
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:05 am

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by woowoo » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:26 am

One crash here right after we first started - but none since then.

User avatar
Sorry
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by Sorry » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:54 pm

No crashes yet.

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by TimSad » Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:16 am

Well, mine finally went down to apply R30. :( I don't get it... Is there never any updates any more that you guys can just wait til the server is empty to apply? How would it have hurt to do so with this one?
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12387
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by Edge100x » Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:45 am

DICE's updates all make changes that require all servers to be shut down at once now. DICE also has been telling us exactly when the updates need to occur, so we aren't allowed to do them early or late. All servers worldwide should have shut down at 1am PDT for today's R30 update.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12387
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by Edge100x » Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:24 pm

As a follow-up on the server crash concern, we've definitely seen an overall uptick in crashes due to game bugs (in addition to the standard Blaze-related crashes). Some servers are crashing multiple times per day now. We have contacted EA/DICE about these and continue to provide them with access to our crash dump information; we expect for the most common crashes to be resolved in new versions.

User avatar
woowoo
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:05 am

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by woowoo » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:22 pm

We had the server crash with 2 people on.

It was unavailable for a period of time and when it became available it was reset to the first map in the rotation.

I note that R30 is rolling out but there is no mention of crash fixes in the change log. Any updates?

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12387
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by Edge100x » Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:35 pm

All we know about R31 right now is what was said in the event, I'm afraid.

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by TimSad » Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:04 am

why do some servers take much longer than others to get the update applied and boot back up to operating status? Some of my servers that I'm least concerned about tend to finish applying and boot back up right away. Any way to put my 64 player server as a priority over those ones?
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12387
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by Edge100x » Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:11 am

The upgrade is applied by turning off all servers on the machine, then adjusting each server in turn (with all machines performing this option concurrently). The extra time between the first and last server to be brought back up will not be more than a couple of minutes for BF3. We don't have a facility to give one customer higher priority than others in this process, but I can look into making the "higher CPU priority" option also apply to it.

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: AK: Server crashes

Post by TimSad » Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:16 am

Ahhh, I see! Very well, thanks!
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

Post Reply