CTF flag settings

Post Reply
User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

CTF flag settings

Post by TacTicToe » Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:08 pm

What number would I set the server to if I wanted 6 flags for a CTF round?
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by Edge100x » Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:25 pm

This isn't officially documented anywhere, but I believe that retrofitted what we call "Tickets given:" on the Easy setup page to do it.

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by TimSad » Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:35 pm

Since 3 is the default number of flags... (100 / 3) * 6 = 200

So, set vars.gameModeCounter to 200 for 6 flags. :)
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by Edge100x » Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:46 pm

Yes, I think so. Let me know if it works, though :)

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by TimSad » Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:22 pm

Also, vars.ctfRoundTimeModifier at the default value of 100 is 20 minutes. I tried setting it to 150 on my server for a 30 minute timer but unfortunately that variable is currently broken and has absolutely no effect in this server version. They will have it fixed in the next server update, though.
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by Edge100x » Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:36 pm

vars.ctfRoundTimeModifier is another variable that was added but which they didn't document. Thanks for the report that it doesn't work -- I was wondering.

They did document some other variables that some utilities will find useful, like "player.ping". Until now, utilities had to try to guess what ping players had; now, they can get it from the server.

FAST
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by FAST » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:06 pm

does multiple flag for CTF really work?

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by TimSad » Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:07 pm

FAST wrote:does multiple flag for CTF really work?
What exactly do you mean?
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

FAST
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by FAST » Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:58 am

You guys were talking about multiple flags in one round (unless I misunderstood). Is it possible to have more than 1 flag per team?

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by TimSad » Thu Mar 14, 2013 11:25 am

We were talking about flag captures. The default (vars.gameModeCounter 100) flag captures is 3. He wanted 6 flag captures so he had to do the default vars.gameModeCounter value divided by 3 times his 6 flag captures to get the value (which ended up being 200) that he needed to set to vars.gameModeCounter in order for his server to be set to 6 flag caps... (100 / 3) * 6 = 200
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

FAST
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: CTF flag settings

Post by FAST » Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:51 pm

oh well i am a noob. Okay thanks!

Post Reply