adding an admin

Post Reply
FAST
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

adding an admin

Post by FAST » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:57 pm

I was wondering if any of you knew how to add admin using an rcon command? There are plugins that allow you to add ingame but rather have the ability to using rcon.

Thanks

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: adding an admin

Post by soja » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:28 pm

You should edit the config files directly, or use an admin management system like sourcebans.

A discussion here mentions security vulnerabilities if there was a way to do it via RCON: https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=86377

Not sure if the functionality was ever added though, that post is from 2009.
Not a NFO employee

FAST
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: adding an admin

Post by FAST » Fri Oct 10, 2014 10:15 am

Hey

Yeah I use sourcebans but its unreliable. I can't effectively add an admin or ban someone with it since it TF2 uses old steam IDs. I had more issues before I got almost of all of them fixed.

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: adding an admin

Post by soja » Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:59 am

Have you tested adding admins etc? Sourcebans interfaces with sourcemod, which converts IDs back and forth if needed.

I currently use sourcebans just fine with my TF2 servers.
Not a NFO employee

FAST
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: adding an admin

Post by FAST » Fri Oct 10, 2014 1:50 pm

Hey

I'm a little confused because it won't take anything but steam ID not [u: IDs

Also are you able to ban people using sourcebans web? For me bans only work once you kick them out.

$atanic $pirit
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:32 am

Re: adding an admin

Post by $atanic $pirit » Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:43 pm

Image

FAST
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: adding an admin

Post by FAST » Fri Oct 17, 2014 7:19 pm

hey

Thanks for link.

Unfortunately I did not seem to find anything on my last issue which is the ban does not stick (using sourcebans webadmin) unless you kick them after the ban. Any advice?

Thanks again

Post Reply