[Net_Graph] Spiking

Post Reply
Lwiz
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:02 am

[Net_Graph] Spiking

Post by Lwiz » Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:10 am

Hey!

I own a css server with 23 plugins, most are super light.

The server acts funny at times and i experience some hit registration problems on my end i dont think too much of it but it does get really annoying once the server gets packed.

It seem to be happening whenever something spikes like crazy on net_graph, i get no choke/loss and the tickrate fluctuates around 66-67-65.

Image

Image

I was basically wondering if this was typical behavior for a 32 slot server?

It's also worth mentioning that if i do revert the minrate settings on the server.cfg file we start to experience choke.

We get people occasionally complaining about the hit registration especially if people are using the m249(there's atleast 6 every round that uses the para).

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: [Net_Graph] Spiking

Post by soja » Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:59 pm

That behavior is typical for a 32 slot server. It can be fixed though. What is your net_splitpacket_maxrate set to?
Not a NFO employee

Lwiz
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:02 am

Re: [Net_Graph] Spiking

Post by Lwiz » Wed Oct 21, 2015 7:36 am

soja wrote:That behavior is typical for a 32 slot server. It can be fixed though. What is your net_splitpacket_maxrate set to?
Its the same as the minrate which is currently: 100000

I tend to mess around with it alot cause im still uncertain where the choke starts, its mostly because im unable to test it sufficiently with 32 players online without interrupting the gameplay.

But yeah i usually have it set to whatever the minrate is at the time

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: [Net_Graph] Spiking

Post by soja » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:25 pm

The spikes/choke can also be occurring because of your high latency.

Try this command:
net_maxcleartime .01

Also, what is your server IP?
Not a NFO employee

Lwiz
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:02 am

Re: [Net_Graph] Spiking

Post by Lwiz » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:39 pm

soja wrote:The spikes/choke can also be occurring because of your high latency.

Try this command:
net_maxcleartime .01

Also, what is your server IP?
im using net_maxcleartime .03 at the moment.

The server ip is: 70.42.74.12:27015

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: [Net_Graph] Spiking

Post by soja » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:53 pm

Yeah the spikes I saw are nothing to worry about. You are seeing it a little different because of your high ping. You could try setting net_splitpacket_maxrate to 1048576 if you're really concerned, but like I said it's nothing to worry about.
Not a NFO employee

Lwiz
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:02 am

Re: [Net_Graph] Spiking

Post by Lwiz » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:56 pm

soja wrote:Yeah the spikes I saw are nothing to worry about. You are seeing it a little different because of your high ping. You could try setting net_splitpacket_maxrate to 1048576 if you're really concerned, but like I said it's nothing to worry about.
Thanks alot, really!

The fact that you took some time and went on the server means alot!

Post Reply