New Server Port - Not connecting

Post Reply
larrybrains
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:08 pm

New Server Port - Not connecting

Post by larrybrains » Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:16 pm

I am attempting to set up a test environment on a new port (27025) for testing new plugins and sourcemod settings without affecting my main servers (ports 27015 & 27016)

I copied the contents of the main l4d2ds folder to a new l4d2ds2 folder and setup a new server to run on port 27025.

As far as I can tell, the server is running and the port is open, but myself and others can't connect to it in L4D2.

Does anyone have any insight on what I might be doing wrong or what I need to do to make this work? Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Vanderburg
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: New Server Port - Not connecting

Post by Vanderburg » Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:58 pm

There's nothing within our system that would preventing you from using these ports. That is, as long as there's no event posted to the Events Log tab of your control panel saying that these ports are being filtered, then they aren't being filtered, so you may need to look at binding.

My networking knowledge in this department is limited, but my understanding is that for a port to show as open, there has to be something listening and responding on that port. Does the port only show as open while that server is running? What operating system are you running? If you're on Windows, you can try running this in the command prompt to make sure the correct process is on that port:

Code: Select all

netstat -abn
If you're on Linux, you can try this:

Code: Select all

netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN
(requires sudo if you're not using root)

larrybrains
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:08 pm

Re: New Server Port - Not connecting

Post by larrybrains » Sun Jun 23, 2019 7:07 pm

Thanks for the info and suggestions. It's a linux server. Here is what I get for "netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN":

Code: Select all

tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:111             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      441/rpcbind
tcp        0      0 104.153.108.80:27025    0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      6431/srcds_linux
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:47093           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      450/rpc.statd
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:22              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      465/sshd
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:25            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      740/exim4
tcp        0      0 104.153.108.80:27015    0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      6380/srcds_linux
tcp        0      0 104.153.108.80:27016    0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      6385/srcds_linux
tcp6       0      0 :::111                  :::*                    LISTEN      441/rpcbind
tcp6       0      0 :::22                   :::*                    LISTEN      465/sshd
tcp6       0      0 ::1:25                  :::*                    LISTEN      740/exim4
tcp6       0      0 :::52124                :::*                    LISTEN      450/rpc.statd

larrybrains
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:08 pm

Re: New Server Port - Not connecting

Post by larrybrains » Sun Jun 23, 2019 7:35 pm

Also, if I log into SSH via the L4D2 username and go to the server console for the new test server via "screen -r lfd2test" I get this:

Code: Select all

[SM] Changed cvar "gfc_spit_zc_flags" to "6".
[SM] Changed cvar "gfc_godframe_glows" to "1".
[SM] Changed cvar "z_max_hunter_pounce_stagger_duration" to "1".
[SM] Changed cvar "l4d2_deadstop_penalty" to "1".
[SM] Changed cvar "z_leap_interval_post_incap" to "20".
[SM] Changed cvar "lerp_monitor_maxchanges" to "5".
[SM] Changed cvar "lerp_monitor_move2spec" to "1".
[SM] Changed cvar "lerp_monitor_min" to "0.000".
[SM] Changed cvar "lerp_monitor_max" to "0.100".
[SM] Changed cvar "ammo_grenadelauncher_max" to "6".
[SM] Changed cvar "grenadelauncher_ff_scale" to "0.24".
[SM] Changed cvar "grenadelauncher_ff_scale_self" to "0.24".
[SM] Changed cvar "z_tank_grenade_launcher_dmg_scale" to "1.0".
[SM] Changed cvar "ammo_shotgun_max" to "72".
[SM] Changed cvar "sm_pausedelay" to "0".
[SM] Changed cvar "l4d_ready_delay" to "3".
[SM] Changed cvar "l4d_ready_warp_team" to "0".
[SM] Changed cvar "l4d_ready_survivor_freeze" to "0".
[SM] Changed cvar "versus_tank_flow_team_variation" to "0".
[SM] Changed cvar "versus_boss_flow_max" to "0.85".
[SM] Changed cvar "versus_boss_flow_min" to "0.25".
[SM] Changed cvar "sv_force_time_of_day" to "0".
[SM] Unable to find cvar: l4d2_block_jump_rock
[SM] Changed cvar "l4d2_block_punch_rock" to "0".
[SM] Changed cvar "l4d2_melee_tank_nerf" to "20".
[SM] Changed cvar "z_tank_health" to "4666.6667".
[SM] Changed cvar "z_tank_throw_health" to "90".
[SM] Unable to find cvar: tpsf_debug_print
[SM] Changed cvar "vocalizeantiflood_time" to "3.0".
[SM] Changed cvar "sm_flood_time" to "0.15".
Unknown command "smac_antispam_cmds"
Unknown command "smac_antispam_connect"
Unknown command "smac_validate_auth"
Unknown command "smac_addcvar"
Unknown command "smac_addcvar"
Unknown command "smac_addcvar"
Unknown command "smac_addcvar"
Unknown command "smac_addcvar"
Unknown command "smac_addcmd"
Connection to Steam servers successful.
   VAC secure mode is activated.
And then if I type "status" it shows:

Code: Select all

hostname: [3] Larry's L4D2 Realism TEST SERVER
version : 2.1.5.5 7311 secure  (unknown)
udp/ip  : 104.153.108.80:27025 [ public same ]
os      : Linux Dedicated
map     : c1m3_mall
players : 0 humans, 0 bots (32 max) (hibernating) (unreserved)

# userid name uniqueid connected ping loss state rate adr

User avatar
Vanderburg
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: New Server Port - Not connecting

Post by Vanderburg » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:32 pm

Steam actually sees both of your servers, as well. You can see using their API here: https://api.steampowered.com/ISteamApps ... 153.108.80

What error do you receive when attempting to connect?

larrybrains
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:08 pm

Re: New Server Port - Not connecting

Post by larrybrains » Sun Jun 23, 2019 9:25 pm

Just this:

Code: Select all

] connect 104.153.108.80:27025
Connecting to public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Retrying public(104.153.108.80:27025) 
Sending UDP connect to public IP 104.153.108.80:27025
Connection failed after 10 retries.

larrybrains
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:08 pm

Re: New Server Port - Not connecting

Post by larrybrains » Wed Jun 26, 2019 2:31 pm

Vanderburg wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:32 pm
Steam actually sees both of your servers, as well. You can see using their API here: https://api.steampowered.com/ISteamApps ... 153.108.80

What error do you receive when attempting to connect?
Posted the connection error above. Any ideas for troubleshooting this issue further?

Post Reply