questions regarding server.cfg

Post Reply
gorman
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:34 am
Location: Denmark

questions regarding server.cfg

Post by gorman » Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:38 am

I was a bit overwhelmed about the server.cfg default settings. So much stuff in there :)

To those who also have an nfo l4d2 rental gameserver, I would like to ask you people, if these settings below are needed at all?

---- // originally in newmapsettings.cfg
mat_motion_blur_enabled 0
mat_grain_enable 1
mat_grain_scale_override 1.5
mat_local_contrast_enable 1
ai_no_steer 1


crosshair 1
r_flashlight_topdown 1
r_flashlightscissor 0
fx_glass_velocity_cap 600
cam_idealyaw 0
cam_idealpitch 90
cam_idealdist 412
fov_desired 75
c_maxpitch 360
c_maxdistance 1000
cl_retire_low_priority_lights 1
cl_interp_ratio 2

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: questions regarding server.cfg

Post by kraze » Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:16 am

Those appear to be all client side variables and should be safe to remove.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

gorman
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:34 am
Location: Denmark

Re: questions regarding server.cfg

Post by gorman » Sat Apr 19, 2014 8:31 am

Cheers.

By the way, inside my autoexec.cfg I have this here

log on
z_difficulty normal
map c5m1_waterfront


Should I delete the z_difficulty thing? And why is it there anyways in the autoexec??

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: questions regarding server.cfg

Post by Edge100x » Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:57 pm

The difficulty there determines the difficulty of that starting map, which is why it needs to be defined first. You can leave it in, change it, or remove it -- up to you.

We also include z_difficulty in the server.cfg, which makes it override anything that might be externally chosen. I should possibly change that.

gorman
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:34 am
Location: Denmark

Re: questions regarding server.cfg

Post by gorman » Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:13 pm

Sometimes, my server launches the stuff that are inside the autoexec without my command.

Example:
Yesterday my steam friends and I were in the lobby, preparing to play. We set expert difficult and sacrifice campaign. So I launched the game, forcing connect to my server.

Once server had loaded, we ended up with normal difficult and the parish campaign. And vote to return to lobby were greyd out.

Not sure what causes this bug?

gorman
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:34 am
Location: Denmark

Re: questions regarding server.cfg

Post by gorman » Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:42 pm

New update:
I deleted the entire autoexec.cfg folder and then I removed the z_difficult_normal inside the server.cfg
Hopefully this will prevent the server from starting up with a fixed difficult and fixed map.

All should still be okay, with these new changes?

I'm also getting these here in the consolelog:
Unknown command "cl_engine_reload_rosetta"
Unknown command "hud_reloadscheme"
Unknown command "cl_engine_reload_rosetta"
Unknown command "hud_reloadscheme"

gorman
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:34 am
Location: Denmark

Re: questions regarding server.cfg

Post by gorman » Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:56 pm

It seems like if I delete the autoexec.cfg It just kills the server

And if I reupload the autoexec.cfg and remove the map inside it, it also kills the server.

But the map inside the autoexec.cfg is the one that causes the bug, where the server loads that map up, even tho another one have been picked in the lobby.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: questions regarding server.cfg

Post by Edge100x » Sat Apr 26, 2014 11:14 pm

The autoexec.cfg is only used at server start, to load the very first map. It is necessary to load a map when starting the server. When you connect to the server with a lobby, the server automatically changes to the one that you specified in your lobby settings, overriding whatever it was already running.

Patriot
A regular
A regular
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 12:10 pm

Re: questions regarding server.cfg

Post by Patriot » Sun Apr 27, 2014 11:47 am

gorman,

Feel free to contact me if you need help configuring your L4D2 server.

Egde100x,
Edge100x wrote:The difficulty there determines the difficulty of that starting map, which is why it needs to be defined first. You can leave it in, change it, or remove it -- up to you.

We also include z_difficulty in the server.cfg, which makes it override anything that might be externally chosen. I should possibly change that.
Definitely should remove z_difficulty from your default server.cfg as it will override the difficulty setting chosen in the lobby, forcing the players to call a "change difficulty" vote at the beginning of every map.

Hope all is well at NFO,

Patriot

Post Reply