Cod 4 server setup

MasonJar
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:33 pm

Cod 4 server setup

Post by MasonJar »

I am renting an unmanaged VDS based in Dallas Texas. When I start the server, it does come online and I can check from xfire that it's showing a ping. However, when I try to join it, it times out. Could it be a port blocking problem? (I have rented VDS here before and never had this problem)



My target line is : C:\cod4\iw3mp.exe +set dedicated 2 +set net_ip xx.xx.xx.xxx +set net_port 28960 +set sv_maxclients 24 +set sv_punkbuster 1 +exec server.cfg +map_rotate


My config is :
//******************************************************************************
// Color Codes
//******************************************************************************
// Colors for text. Do not clear the comment in front of the color codes.
// Useful for your server name, motd msg's - Information and ref use only
//
// ^1 = Red
// ^2 = Green
// ^3 = Yellow
// ^4 = Blue
// ^5 = Cyan
// ^6 = pink/Magenta
// ^7 = White
// ^0 = Black
// ************************************************** ***
// ****** Public Info Displayed in the Game Browser *****
// ************************************************** ***
sets sv_hostname "Server"
sets _Admin "MasonJar"
sets _Email "cod4shire@yahoo.com"
sets _Website ""
sets _Location ""
sets _Irc ""
sets _Mod "None"
sets _ModVer ""
sets _ModUpdate ""
sets _Maps "COD4 Stock Maps"

// ************************************************** ***
// *********** Server Settings ****************
// ************************************************** ***
set scr_motd "Welcome to our server" // Message of the day

//******************************************************************************
// Admin rcon password
//******************************************************************************
set rcon_password "xxxx"

//******************************************************************************
// Make Server Private
//******************************************************************************
sets g_needpass "0" // Makes server private (0=no 1=yes)
set g_password "" // Password to join private server

//******************************************************************************
// Private Slots - Subtracted From Maxclients
//******************************************************************************
set sv_privateClients "2" // Number of Private slots (Taken from server max clients)
set sv_privatePassword "3553" // Password for the private slots

//******************************************************************************
// Server Network Settings
//******************************************************************************
set sv_maxRate "25000" // Data transfer rate between player and server (5000-25000)
//set sv_fps "20" // Not used, limits frames per second to players

//******************************************************************************
// Limit Lag and Reconnects
//******************************************************************************
set sv_minPing "0" // Minimum ping allowed to connect
set sv_maxPing "250" // Max ping allowed to connect
set sv_reconnectlimit "3" // Max allowed reconnect attempts

//******************************************************************************
// Log File Settings
//******************************************************************************
set logfile "1" // 0 = NO log, 1 = log file enabled
set g_logsync "2" // 0=no log, 1=buffered, 2=continuous, 3=append
set g_log "server_mp.log" // Name of log file, default is games_mp.log
set sv_log_damage "1"

//******************************************************************************
// Anti Cheat Settings
//******************************************************************************
set sv_pure "1" // Requires players files to match the server (1=on 0=off)
seta sv_allowAnonymous "0" // Allows/Disallows anonymous players to join the server (1=yes 0=no)
set sv_kickBanTime "3600" // Time in seconds a temp banned player must wait to rejoin the server
set g_banIPs "" // Banned Ip's (May be outdated, cod4 uses banlist.txt file)
set sv_disableClientConsole "0" // Disables players console to prevent issue of commands (1=yes 0=no)
set g_no_script_spam "1"
set cl_autocmd "0"
set sv_cheats "0" // Enable/Disable cheats (May be outdated)

//******************************************************************************
// Drop Inactive Players/Spectators
//******************************************************************************
set sv_timeout "300" // Drops a player that times out (In seconds)
set sv_connectTimeout "300" // Drops a player whose connection times out (In seconds)
set g_inactivity "0" // Drops inactive player (In seconds)
set g_inactivityspectator "0" // Drops inactive spectator (In seconds)
set sv_zombietime "2" // default 2, 0 - 1800

//******************************************************************************
// HTTP Redirect/Downloads (0=off/1=on) Used for MODs and custom maps
//******************************************************************************
set sv_allowdownload "1"
seta sv_wwwDownload "1"
seta sv_wwwBaseURL "http://www.yourwebsite.com/base_directory"
seta sv_wwwDlDisconnected "0"

//******************************************************************************
// Ingame Voice Communications
//******************************************************************************
set sv_voice "0"
set sv_voiceQuality "1"
set voice_deadChat "0"
set voice_global "0"
set voice_localEcho "0"
set winvoice_mic_mute "1"

//******************************************************************************
// Gameplay Settings
//******************************************************************************
set scr_game_onlyheadshots 0 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off
set scr_game_deathpointloss 0 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off
set scr_game_suicidepointloss 0 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off
set scr_game_spectatetype 2 // [0-2] (Disabled, Team/Players Only, Free)

//******************************************************************************
// Team Killing/Balance Settings
//******************************************************************************
set scr_teambalance 1 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off
set scr_team_teamkillspawndelay 10 // Spawn delay in seconds after team killing
set scr_team_kickteamkillers 0 // [0-1] 1=yes/0=no
set scr_team_teamkillpointloss 1 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off

//******************************************************************************
// Player Settings
//******************************************************************************
set scr_player_suicidespawndelay 0 // Spawn delay in seconds after suicide
set scr_player_forcerespawn 1 // [0-1] 1=yes/0=no
set scr_player_sprinttime 4 // Sprint time in seconds

//******************************************************************************
// Misc Settings
//******************************************************************************
set ui_hud_obituaries 1 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off
set ui_hud_showobjicons 1 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off
set g_allowvote 0 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off Enable/Disable map voting
set g_compassShowEnemies 0 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off
set g_antilag 0 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off default 1

//******************************************************************************
// DEATHMATCH
//******************************************************************************
set scr_dm_scorelimit 150 // Point score to reach to win map
set scr_dm_timelimit 10 // maximum time in minutes per round
set scr_dm_roundlimit 1 // maximum number of rounds
set scr_dm_numlives 0 // maximum number of respawns, 0 = infinite
set scr_dm_playerrespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay player respawn. *hardcode mode default is 10.
set scr_dm_waverespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay players to force respawn in waves

//******************************************************************************
// DOMINATION
//******************************************************************************
set scr_dom_scorelimit 200 // Point score to reach to win map
set scr_dom_timelimit 0 // maximum time in minutes per round
set scr_dom_roundlimit 1 // maximum number of rounds
set scr_dom_numlives 0 // maximum number of respawns, 0 = infinite
set scr_dom_playerrespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay player respawn. *hardcode mode default is 10.
set scr_dom_waverespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay players to force respawn in waves

//******************************************************************************
// TEAM DEATHMATCH
//******************************************************************************
set scr_war_scorelimit 1500 // Point score to reach to win map
set scr_war_timelimit 15 // maximum time in minutes per round
set scr_war_roundlimit 1 // maximum number of rounds
set scr_war_numlives 0 // maximum number of respawns, 0 = infinite
set scr_war_playerrespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay player respawn. *hardcode mode default is 10.
set scr_war_waverespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay players to force respawn in waves

//******************************************************************************
// SABOTAGE
//******************************************************************************
set scr_sab_scorelimit 1 // Number of rounds to reach to win map
set scr_sab_timelimit 20 // maximum time in minutes per round
set scr_sab_roundlimit 0 // maximum number of rounds
set scr_sab_roundswitch 1 // number of rounds to switch sides
set scr_sab_numlives 0 // maximum number of respawns, 0 = infinite
set scr_sab_bombtimer 30 // Amount of time in seconds before bomb explodes
set scr_sab_planttime 2.5 // Amount of time in seconds to plant a bomb
set scr_sab_defusetime 5 // Amount of time in seconds to defuse a bomb
set scr_sab_hotpotato 0 // 1 = shared bomb timer, 0 = bomb timer for each team
set scr_sab_playerrespawndelay 7.5 // Amount of time in seconds to delay player respawn. *hardcode mode default is 10.
set scr_sab_waverespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay players to force respawn in waves

//******************************************************************************
// SEARCH AND DESTROY CLASSIC
//******************************************************************************
set scr_sd_scorelimit 8 // Number of rounds to reach to win map
set scr_sd_timelimit 2.5 // maximum time in minutes per round
set scr_sd_roundlimit 0 // maximum number of rounds
set scr_sd_roundswitch 1 // number of rounds to switch sides
set scr_sd_numlives 1 // maximum number of respawns, 0 = infinite
set scr_sd_bombtimer 45 // Amount of time in seconds before bomb explodes
set scr_sd_planttime 5 // Amount of time in seconds to plant a bomb
set scr_sd_defusetime 5 // Amount of time in seconds to defuse a bomb
set scr_sd_multibomb 0 // 0 = single bomb, 1 = all attackers carry a bomb
set scr_sd_playerrespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay player respawn. *hardcode mode default is 10.
set scr_sd_waverespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay players to force respawn in waves

//******************************************************************************
// KING OF THE HILL - aka Headquarters
//******************************************************************************
set scr_koth_scorelimit 250 // Point score to reach to win map
set scr_koth_timelimit 15 // maximum time in minutes per round
set scr_koth_roundlimit 1 // maximum number of rounds
set scr_koth_roundswitch 1 // number of rounds to switch sides
set scr_koth_numlives 0 // maximum number of respawns, 0 = infinite
set scr_koth_playerrespawndelay 15 // Amount of time in seconds to delay player respawn. *hardcode mode default is 10.
set scr_koth_waverespawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay players to force respawn in waves
set koth_autodestroytime 60 // Amount of time in seconds HQ is online to be captured/destroyed
set koth_spawntime 0 // AMount of delay time in seconds before HQ can be activated
set koth_kothmode 0 // 0 = Classic, enemy destroys HQ, 1 = non classic, enemy can capture HQ
set koth_capturetime 20 // Amount of time in seconds to capture HQ
set koth_destroytime 10 // Amount of time in secongs to destroy HQ
set koth_delayPlayer 0 // Enable respawn delay - overrides default respawn system??
set koth_spawnDelay 60 // Amount of time to delay respawn - overrides default system??


set scr_hardcore 0
set scr_team_fftype 2 // [0-3] (Disabled, Enabled, Reflect, Shared)
set scr_player_maxhealth 100 // Health 0-100
set scr_player_healthregentime 5 // Health regeneration in seconds
set scr_player_respawndelay 0 // Amount of time in seconds to delay player respawn.
set scr_game_allowkillcam 1 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off
set scr_game_forceuav 1 // [0-1] 1=on/0=off




set scr_oldschool "0"


set sv_maprotationcurrent ""




set sv_maprotation "gametype sd map mp_backlot gametype sd map mp_crash gametype war map mp_vacant gametype sd map mp_broadcast map mp_citystreets map mp_crossfire gametype war map mp_vacant gametype sd map mp_vacant map mp_bloc map mp_cargoship gametype war map mp_vacant gametype sd map mp_overgrown map mp_strike"
User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by soja »

Did you allow iw3mp.exe through the firewall? By default windows will block incoming connections, unless you specifically allow it.
Not a NFO employee
MasonJar
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by MasonJar »

soja wrote:Did you allow iw3mp.exe through the firewall? By default windows will block incoming connections, unless you specifically allow it.


hmm didn't have to do that the last time. I'll try that. Thanks
User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by soja »

Please let me know if this fixed it for you :)
Not a NFO employee
User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 848
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by TacTicToe »

Go to the console on the server itself and type the word 'status' in the console, without quotes. It should come back showing server online, map name, basic info if it is working.

Keep in mind though that the cod4 master server and authentication servers are currently down as well.

Once you have your server online and seems to be running, you can check it at our audit tool to see if it is showing and online. If it shows in the audit tool, then you should be able to connect to it.

http://www.thekillingcrew.com/audit/
MasonJar
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by MasonJar »

soja wrote:Please let me know if this fixed it for you :)
So, I just opened the firewall and saw that firewall is shut down completely. That throws away the firewall question haha.
MasonJar
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by MasonJar »

TacTicToe wrote:Go to the console on the server itself and type the word 'status' in the console, without quotes. It should come back showing server online, map name, basic info if it is working.

Keep in mind though that the cod4 master server and authentication servers are currently down as well.

Once you have your server online and seems to be running, you can check it at our audit tool to see if it is showing and online. If it shows in the audit tool, then you should be able to connect to it.

http://www.thekillingcrew.com/audit/

I typed status and it did show the map name and other basic info num, score, ping, GUID etc. I did mention that the server seems to be online because as I added the server IP on my favorites list on xfire, it showed to be online is that it showed me ping and the map.

The problem is, I try to connect it fails to connect for some reason. I joined different servers to see if the problem is on my end but it isn't. I THINK the problem might be with PB but I've tried various places and gotten pb files manually and it hasn't made a difference.

I just used your Audit page and it got a pass on all except Master server position and name (too long, I'll fix that).

So, how do i fix the "master server position" problem?

Thanks for the help!
User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by soja »

The firewall still blocks incoming connections to programs not on the list of allowed.
Not a NFO employee
MasonJar
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by MasonJar »

soja wrote:The firewall still blocks incoming connections to programs not on the list of allowed.

Just added to the exceptions. Same result.

Also, this is the result from the audit.

http://postimg.org/image/7wkmut27r/
User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by soja »

Are you trying to run a cracked server?
Not a NFO employee
User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 848
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by TacTicToe »

As I stated and will repeat the master server and authentication servers are down.

Punkbuster has been discontinued for CoD4 and WaW. No one uses it anymore, and you should just get rid of it, as it is pretty useless at this point. I tried to connect to your server and could not because you have punkbuster enabled.

Server name was just Server? Might want to change that. It was running S&D game mode.

At any rate you are online, and people should be able to connect to your server. Just get rid of PB and you should be good to go.
MasonJar
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by MasonJar »

TacTicToe wrote:As I stated and will repeat the master server and authentication servers are down.

Punkbuster has been discontinued for CoD4 and WaW. No one uses it anymore, and you should just get rid of it, as it is pretty useless at this point. I tried to connect to your server and could not because you have punkbuster enabled.

Server name was just Server? Might want to change that. It was running S&D game mode.

At any rate you are online, and people should be able to connect to your server. Just get rid of PB and you should be good to go.

Ok, i'll disable pb, do i just take off the "punkbuster "1" " from the command line?

Also, I just wanted to check if my server was working. I'll be sure to change the name lol
MasonJar
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by MasonJar »

soja wrote:Are you trying to run a cracked server?
haha no, I am not.
User avatar
TacTicToe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 848
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by TacTicToe »

I know youre not running a cracked server. He said that because your server isnt showing on the master server list. It isnt showing because it is down, not because youre running a cracked server.

Ok I saw you disabled PB, I tried to connect and it timed out. So do me a favor, reboot your VDS. I had a similar issues with WaW and was only able to fix it by rebooting my box. Since WaW is just a re-skinned CoD4 it may be the same issue.

Also, when you get a chance, verify you can connect to servers. Try real quick to connect to ours while your VDS reboots.

104.153.104.204:28961
MasonJar
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: Cod 4 server setup

Post by MasonJar »

TacTicToe wrote:I know youre not running a cracked server. He said that because your server isnt showing on the master server list. It isnt showing because it is down, not because youre running a cracked server.

Ok I saw you disabled PB, I tried to connect and it timed out. So do me a favor, reboot your VDS. I had a similar issues with WaW and was only able to fix it by rebooting my box. Since WaW is just a re-skinned CoD4 it may be the same issue.

Also, when you get a chance, verify you can connect to servers. Try real quick to connect to ours while your VDS reboots.

104.153.104.204:28961


Joined your server, I got in

Rebooted my machine and it still doesn't work. I get timed out.

You got xfire or steam that so I can add you?

Thanks
Post Reply