COD 2 + extreme [invalid server profile]

Post Reply
EazyMango
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:26 am

COD 2 + extreme [invalid server profile]

Post by EazyMango » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:53 am

Is there a trick to getting this mod to run on NFO VDS's

I have the exact copy running on my desktop and another provider but for the life of me I cannot get it to boot up on my VDS.

Stock command line the control panel creates looks right
+set fs_game lgxt27 +set dedicated 2 +set net_ip 74.91.116.79 +set sv_maxclients 42 +set ui_maxclients 42 +exec server.cfg

Will not boot the game what so ever, Any Ideas..

User avatar
TimeX
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1387
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:24 am
Location: Big Bear, CA

Re: COD 2 + extreme

Post by TimeX » Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:04 am

Offhand, are you trying to load up something in a lgxt27 mod folder? If not, the fs_game flag is likely your problem.

Any specific errors in the log files?
TimeX

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: COD 2 + extreme

Post by Edge100x » Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:24 am

If you're running on Windows, you might try turning off DEP, as some mods/games require that it be disabled and the game will crash with strange errors otherwise.

EazyMango
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:26 am

Re: COD 2 + extreme

Post by EazyMango » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:57 am

How do you turn off DEP on a managed VPS

User avatar
TimeX
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1387
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:24 am
Location: Big Bear, CA

Re: COD 2 + extreme

Post by TimeX » Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:11 pm

On a managed VDS, this wouldn't be an issue. Other than the mod folder possibly being an issue, do you have a map rotation properly set up?

It may be best to contact us through the "Help" page in your control panel to have us look directly at it, since this is a managed server.
TimeX

EazyMango
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:26 am

Re: COD 2 + extreme

Post by EazyMango » Thu Mar 15, 2012 4:39 am

Not really sure what the deal was but it seemed to be the server.cfg file that came with the mod.

I created one from scratch adding what was needed and its running fine now. 8O

Thanks for help m8's :D

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: COD 2 + extreme

Post by Edge100x » Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:26 pm

For reference, this problem occurred because the customer's uploaded files for the mod included a "players" folder (which is normally auto-generated by the CoD2 server), which in turn contained an "active.txt" that set the profile to "tcadmin", as opposed to the standard value of "default". When it starts up, the CoD2 server loads the config_mp.txt file saved to the active profile folder while checking for hardware changes, throwing up a dialog box if it finds differences. Our system is set up to delete "players/default/config_mp.cfg" during its repair operations in order to ensure that this check can't fail, but it does not look for "players/tcadmin/config_mp.cfg", so the dialog box was appearing every time the server tried to start, preventing it from running.

The fix was to change the "players/active.txt" file to contain "default" instead of "tcadmin". The server then started normally.

This was an artifact of transplanting an entire mod's folder and files from an existing server on another machine with a custom profile defined. We've never seen this before because most customers upload their mods from standard distributions.

Post Reply