HLTV Automated Recording Configs

Post Reply
metro
Staff
Staff
Posts: 94
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:35 pm
Location: Beaverton, OR

HLTV Automated Recording Configs

Post by metro »

We get a lot of questions in the IRC support channel regarding recording HLTV demos and how to make it easier. I admit, it is kind of a hassle to have to type in console commands to connect to HLTV, send the record or stoprecording command, and then have to use more commands to switch back to your game server RCON. HLTV can be set to auto record but the problem with that setting is HLTV will record demos that have dead time. This will fill up your FTP with empty demo's and it also takes up space on our systems. Below are some configs that I wrote that will start the recording process and the stoprecording process with a simple key bind.

To bind a key to the configs just type this in your console:

bind "key" "exec hltvrecord.cfg"
bind "key" "exec hltvstoprecord.cfg"

Posted below are both configs for your use. You can either copy & paste the text into notepad and save it as a *.cfg file, or you can download them from the provided links. Either way, you will have to edit the configs to match your server identifers, and the passwords for both your game server and your HLTV server. Have Fun!

http://md.nuclearfallout.net/configs/hltvrecord.cfg
http://md.nuclearfallout.net/configs/hltvstoprecord.cfg

Code: Select all

// NuclearFallout HLTV Autorecord Config by metro
// For HLTV and server help, visit #nfo-support on GameSurge
// To use this config, make sure to replace ? with your server identifier,
// change the password entries to match your passwords, and then bind a 
// key to "exec hltvrecord.cfg" to execute the config file.
// If you have more than one identifer, be extra careful to use the correct 
// ones for your HLTV and for your game server.

// Begin HLTV Autorecord config

alias "wait10" "wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait"

rcon_address ?.hltv.nuclearfallout.net

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_port 27020

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_password "hltvpassword"

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon record HLTV

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_address ?.nuclearfallout.net

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_port 27015

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_password "gameserverpassword"

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon say Now recording HLTV demo.

Code: Select all

// NuclearFallout HLTV Stop Autorecord Config by metro
// For HLTV and server help, visit #nfo-support on GameSurge
// To use this config, make sure to replace ? with your server identifier,
// change the password entries to match your passwords, and then bind a 
// key to "exec hltvstoprecord.cfg" to execute the config file.
// If you have more than one identifer, be extra careful to use the correct 
// ones for your HLTV and for your game server.

// Begin HLTV Stop Autorecord config

alias "wait10" "wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait; wait"

rcon_address ?.hltv.nuclearfallout.net

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_port 27020

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_password "hltvpassword"

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon stoprecording

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_address ?.nuclearfallout.net

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_port 27015

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon_password "gameserverpassword"

wait10;wait10;wait10;wait10

rcon say HLTV demo recording stopped.
Last edited by metro on Sat Aug 21, 2004 8:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image
metro @ [url=irc://irc.gamesurge.net/nfo-support]#nfo-support[/url]
Somewhere in Texas, a village is missing it's idiot...
User avatar
bOoya
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 886
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:46 pm
Location: Corona, CA
Contact:

Post by bOoya »

nice nice, but are the waits really neccessary? you're only running 1 command on each server. :?
metro
Staff
Staff
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:35 pm
Location: Beaverton, OR

Post by metro »

I have noticed that on certain computers it will process the commands too quickly and not all of them will be sent to the servers. I am going to clean up the waits a little bit so the configs use less real estate and look a little cleaner. :P
Image
metro @ [url=irc://irc.gamesurge.net/nfo-support]#nfo-support[/url]
Somewhere in Texas, a village is missing it's idiot...
User avatar
bOoya
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 886
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:46 pm
Location: Corona, CA
Contact:

Post by bOoya »

ic ic, you're a good man charlie brown.
err... i mean metro
:P
metro
Staff
Staff
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:35 pm
Location: Beaverton, OR

Post by metro »

Finally cleaned up the configs on the server and on the forums. Feel free to redownload them if you haven't made the changes to the existing ones yourself

:D
Image
metro @ [url=irc://irc.gamesurge.net/nfo-support]#nfo-support[/url]
Somewhere in Texas, a village is missing it's idiot...
izZy
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:57 pm

Post by izZy »

the one bad thing is when u do that cfg it will change the rcon_address and therefor you cannot rcon your game server it will rcon your hltv server
-izZy
User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo »

izZy wrote:the one bad thing is when u do that cfg it will change the rcon_address and therefor you cannot rcon your game server it will rcon your hltv server
look at the config closely, you will see that it changes it back to gameserver rcon :)
-Nick
izZy
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:57 pm

Post by izZy »

ahhhhh shhitttt lol
ok
thanks!!!
-izZy
PiONEER
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 3:25 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by PiONEER »

Wow, this really helps I noticed :)
Post Reply