TS3 Server Update?

Post Reply
Gliger
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:15 pm

TS3 Server Update?

Post by Gliger » Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:23 pm

I'm just wondering if there was a way to update TS3 Servers, I couldn't find anything in the control panel. My current one is running 3.0.10.3 on Linux while their website shows 3.0.11.2 is available for Linux servers. Thanks!

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: TS3 Server Update?

Post by kraze » Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:05 pm

Any TS3 updates would need to be applied by us globally. We also generally hold off on doing single VOIP updates and instead try to group a few together, unless they fix a crucial security bug or stop clients from connecting.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: TS3 Server Update?

Post by soja » Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:21 am

Kraze, the 3.0.11.2 update fixes an exploit in the server that allows clients to crash it.

We had a client that has been crashing our TS3 server the past few days, at first we though it was just a random thing, but after it happening multiple times in the past few days, we investigated.

Our logs showed this as the last line before the crash:

Code: Select all

2015-01-10 13:43:42.066160|CRITICAL|ParamParser   |   | Assertion "positionHint <= m_MyPiece.m_paramSize" failed at common/parameter/parameterparser.cpp:252; 
Googling led me here:
http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthread.p ... cpp-252%29


We just updated our server, and we are hoping this exploit that was used to crash our server was indeed fixed by the latest update.
Not a NFO employee

User avatar
soja
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: TS3 Server Update?

Post by soja » Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:33 am

Sorry, to add to this, we were having the crashing issue on server version 3.0.10.3
Not a NFO employee

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: TS3 Server Update?

Post by kraze » Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:15 pm

I was unaware of the crash fix. I'll pass it along and see if we can schedule an update.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

Bubka3
Compulsive poster
Compulsive poster
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:24 am

Re: TS3 Server Update?

Post by Bubka3 » Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:15 pm

It seems the update has been pushed but it's using more CPU?

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: TS3 Server Update?

Post by kraze » Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:52 pm

Bubka3 wrote:It seems the update has been pushed but it's using more CPU?
Yes, the overall CPU usage has been raised a considerable amount with this update. Likely not a huge amount for a single server but it adds up considering each location only has a single VOIP box. We're monitoring it for performance problems and if it's an issue we'll just split them on to multiple boxes or migrate to beefier servers.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: TS3 Server Update?

Post by Edge100x » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:18 pm

The CPU usage increase was a real surprise, as there's no hint from the changelog that this would happen, and we haven't noticed it with previous releases. We are hoping that it won't be necessary to raise prices because of it.

Post Reply