BC2 Banning

disconnect
A regular
A regular
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA

BC2 Banning

Post by disconnect »

Hey guys,

I have a bit of a noob question... I've been a server admin for Half-Life mods for years now, but this is my first Battlefield server. It's also the first server I haven't been able to host on my own dedicated box for quite some time hehe.

Anyway, on to my question, how does Bad Company 2 handle bans? Does it ban the EA account or the soldier name? I would hope the EA account, as it would be pretty easy for someone to change their soldier name re-join.

I'm aware the ban system is broke right now, I'm just trying to educate myself how it's suppose to work, when it finally does. :)

Thanks!

Disconnect
Edge100x
Founder
Founder

Re: BC2 Banning

Post by Edge100x »

The regular in-game ban can handle banning by either player name or IP address (you'd have to find out the IP from PB): http://www.nfoservers.com/forums/viewto ... =50&t=4278

You can also ban through PB, using the GUID in that system.
disconnect
A regular
A regular

Post by disconnect »

Edge100x wrote:The regular in-game ban can handle banning by either player name or IP address (you'd have to find out the IP from PB): http://www.nfoservers.com/forums/viewto ... =50&t=4278

You can also ban through PB, using the GUID in that system.
Hey Edge,

Thanks for the reply... so which method would be best for me to use for a perm ban? I typically avoid ip bans since not to many people have static ip addresses these days. As far as I can tell, anyone can change their soldier name, so if it's a griefer, they could literally just logout, change their name, and get right back in? Is the PB GUID static or does this change for people as well?

I guess I'm looking for the equivalent to a STEAM_ID ban, where you know they aren't easily getting back in... without buying another copy of the game anyway.
Edge100x
Founder
Founder

Post by Edge100x »