BFBC2 Dallas location

Post Reply
Sim
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:02 am

BFBC2 Dallas location

Post by Sim » Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:27 pm

I'm trying to see if other people that have a BFBC2 server in Dallas have players complaining about lag.
I tell people on our forums that complain about lag to run WinMTR program to see where the issue is but most of them are too lazy to do it. They say we go to this other server and we don't have the lag issue and hit registry is better.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: BFBC2 Dallas location

Post by Edge100x » Sat Sep 11, 2010 12:02 am

I haven't heard any specific complaints about Dallas, but if the problem is with just some players (and not the whole server at the same time), then it is most likely a routing issue, and I'd very much like to see their traces. Are they complaining of just high pings/poor registration, or also packet loss/skipping/warping?

If they're experiencing high pings because they're far from Dallas, you might consider switching locations. Chicago is a more popular location, so there's a good chance that they're comparing it to servers there.

Sim
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:02 am

Re: BFBC2 Dallas location

Post by Sim » Sat Sep 11, 2010 12:39 pm

Most of them are complaining about lag, registration, packet loss/warping. Not every player on the server is complaining. We might end up moving one of our servers to Chicago to see if it will help.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: BFBC2 Dallas location

Post by Edge100x » Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:37 pm

BC2 is very sensitive to packet loss -- even more so than Valve games. If a few people are having packet loss, please have them send me their MTRs, which will help me to pin down where the loss starts: http://www.nfoservers.com/forums/viewto ... =25&t=4272

If they haven't already done so, I'd also recommend that they restart their cable/DSL routers/modems, as these are a common cause of packet loss issues.

Post Reply