No cache folder

Post Reply
dejectedrocket
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 6
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:53 am

No cache folder

Post by dejectedrocket »

Im trying to set up FastDL, but my server directory has no cache folder, so no one can download anything from my webserver.

What can I do about this?
User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12948
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: No cache folder

Post by Edge100x »

Garrysmod 13 did away with the "cache" folder on the server -- it's no longer needed.

Are you using our Websync tool to set up the webhosting for you?
dejectedrocket
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:53 am

Re: No cache folder

Post by dejectedrocket »

Yes.

I click "websynch", and wait a bit and restart the server, but im still not receiving the files.
dejectedrocket
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:53 am

Re: No cache folder

Post by dejectedrocket »

From my facepunch thread:


I'm making a WW2 RP server, so I need a lot of custom models. Its a DarkRP edit, where the Mayor is of course hitler. I am using this model,

http://www.garrysmod.org/downloads/?a=view&id=120233

I used Fox-Warrior's Resource Gen to get this and add on to the .lua file,

I added sv_downloadurl "http://trg.site.nfoservers.com/server/" to server.cfg

Code: Select all

if (SERVER) then
	resource.AddFile( "models/jessev92/player/ww2/hd_hitler_v3.mdl" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/eyeball_l.vmt" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/eyeball_l.vtf" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/eyeball_r.vmt" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/eyeball_r.vtf" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/glint.vmt" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/glint.vtf" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/kleiner_sheet.vmt" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/kleiner_sheet.vtf" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/kleiner_sheet_n.vtf" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/mouth.vmt" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/mouth.vtf" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/pupil_l.vmt" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/pupil_l.vtf" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/pupil_r.vmt" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/pupil_r.vtf" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/ted_facemap.vmt" )
	resource.AddFile( "materials/jessev92/ww2/hd_hitler_v3/ted_facemap.vtf" )
end
Then, I used bzip to compress the models and materials folder, then uploaded them to my webserver along with the Lua folder, here:

http://trg.site.nfoservers.com/server/


They both follow the same <root>/models/jessev92/player/ww2

My shared.lua file has the correct root

model = "models/jessev92/player/ww2/hd_hitler_v3.mdl",


yet the model is still an error. I checked my garry's mod folder ( I didnt install the model manually), and I only have the <root>/models/jessev92/player/ww2, but no files inside it.
dejectedrocket
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:53 am

Re: No cache folder

Post by dejectedrocket »

I just realized websynch adds the files for me.
Lol.
dejectedrocket
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:53 am

Re: No cache folder

Post by dejectedrocket »

{I can't edit my posts?}

They still arent downloading when I use only websynch >.>
User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12948
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: No cache folder

Post by Edge100x »

Is the client attempting to download them? Are you seeing the requests in the access log for the webhosting (on its "File manager" page)?
Octavius
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: No cache folder

Post by Octavius »

Where exactly are you placing the LUA file for your auto-download script? Also, with resource.addfile you've only got to add .vmt and .mdl files for textures and models. Can't be too sure exactly though. I've not yet done this in GMod 13 myself.
Post Reply