Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post Reply
Fscreams
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Fscreams »

Here is my server - http://kstgs.site.nfoservers.com/server/

Here is my code -

Code: Select all

if (SERVER) then
  resource.AddFile( "models/player/point/scarecrow/scarecrow_player.mdl" )
  resource.AddFile( "models/player/point/scarecrow/scarecrow_player.phy" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_bandage.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_belt.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_body.vtf" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_body_bump.vtf" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_clothes.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_clothes_nocull.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_eyes.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_eye_area.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_feet.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_gasmask.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_glass.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_hands.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_head.vtf" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_head_bump.vtf" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_hood.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_hose_shader.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_mask.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_metal_thingy.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_noshader.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_poison.vtf" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_poison_hose.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_rope.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_shader.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_shader.vtf" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_shader_2.vtf" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_skin.vmt" )
  resource.AddFile( "materials/models/player/point/scarecrow/slow_skirt_thing.vmt" )
end
Still shows up as an error.
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by kraze »

That seems to be the correct code. Where are you putting this file on your server?
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
Fscreams
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Fscreams »

In here - http://prntscr.com/17ga4p


Trying to put in pointshop - This is the code

Code: Select all

ITEM.Name = 'Scare Crow'
ITEM.Price = 500
ITEM.Model = 'models/player/point/scare_crow.mdl'

function ITEM:OnEquip(ply, modifications)
	if not ply._OldModel then
		ply._OldModel = ply:GetModel()
	end
	
	timer.Simple(1, function() ply:SetModel(self.Model) end)
end

function ITEM:OnHolster(ply)
	if ply._OldModel then
		ply:SetModel(ply._OldModel)
	end
end
The code is correct as well.
Fscreams
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Fscreams »

Fixed the code a bit - Now the model shows up purple / black.
Fscreams
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Fscreams »

ITEM.Name = 'Scare Crow'
ITEM.Price = 500
ITEM.Model = 'models/player/point/scarecrow/scarecrow_player.mdl'

function ITEM:OnEquip(ply, modifications)
if not ply._OldModel then
ply._OldModel = ply:GetModel()
end

timer.Simple(1, function() ply:SetModel(self.Model) end)
end

function ITEM:OnHolster(ply)
if ply._OldModel then
ply:SetModel(ply._OldModel)
end
end

That's the code that I fixed. Going to try a different model and see if that one has issues as well.
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by kraze »

Where are you putting your resource file, though? It should be going into

Code: Select all

 garrysmod/lua/autorun/server/
in your servers FTP.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
Fscreams
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Fscreams »

Alright. The resource ( add file ) is in the correct spot. Models *Work* But, when a client joins, for whatever reason they can see some models, and other models are just purple and black, and it differs for everyone.
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by kraze »

Did you confirm that the ones that are not showing correctly are indeed on the Fastdl server?
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
Fscreams
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Fscreams »

Yup.

http://kstgs.site.nfoservers.com/server ... yer/point/
That's where all the materials are at.

http://prntscr.com/17oz3h

That's where it's downloading too. Files are in there.
Fscreams
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Fscreams »

Anyways - I have a theory of why it's not working -

So player models I guess are "coded" into what materials they use, or models.

Example - Default file path for venom would be

material/model/player/dc/villians/venom/ ( Material files )

I changed the file path to

material/model/player/point/venom/

So the actual "code", if there is any, might be trying to read the original file path, and not the altered one.

Going to pull all the models out of the server and try it with the default path it comes with.
User avatar
ThatGuyNex
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by ThatGuyNex »

You're exactly right. Much like the vmt files have hard paths to where the vtf file is located, the .mdl files have the location of the texture files coded in as well. I'll hope that you got it working.
Fscreams
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Fscreams »

Yup.
Simmi
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:26 pm

Re: Fast DL help - Models show as errors

Post by Simmi »

I had the same issue so I just post the link to the website where they can download the files. And left instructions on how they can put them into their garrysmod. It is easy. :\ I just made a steam page with all the links I use. If anyone has errors or checkers I send them to it and it fixes it every time.
Post Reply