GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

RobinHood
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:37 pm

GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by RobinHood »

I have been trying to link FastDL to my server for a short while now. I have tried everything, and have ended up not succeeding every single time. So, I have a website that came with my Gmod server. My server includes ULX and TTT. I put a database, or subdirectory called fastdl on my website. I wanted to test it so I put the jihad files in there that I downloaded. I also put the jihad files in my game server as well. So I made a resource file, and it looks like this. . .

Code: Select all

resource.AddFile("sound/siege/jihad.wav")
resource.AddFile("sound/siege/big_explosion.wav")
resource.AddFile("materials/vgui/entities/weapon_jihadbomb.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/vgui/entities/weapon_jihadbomb.vmt")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/v_jb.mdl")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/v_jb.dx80")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/v_jb.dx90")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/v_jb.sw.vtx")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/v_jb.vvd")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/w_jb.mdl")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/w_jb.dx80")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/w_jb.dx90")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/w_jb.sw.vtx")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/w_jb.vvd")
resource.AddFile("models/weapons/w_jb.phy")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb1.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb1.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb1_planted.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb1_ref.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb2.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb2.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb3b.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb3b.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/and.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/hand.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_04.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_04.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_45.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_45.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_active.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_active.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_off.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_off.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_off_ref.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_on.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_on.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/screen_on_ref.vtf")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/bomb1.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/v_models/pr0d.c4/bomb1_planted.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/bomb2.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/bomb3b.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/hand.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/screen_04.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/screen_45.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/screen_active.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/screen_on.vmt")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/weapons/w_models/pr0d.c4/screen_off.vmt")
One of the support members at NFOservers told me to put it like that, but it use to look like this. .
http://gyazo.com/a55d4ca7e1a562546583fc24a1e83f32
I don't know what to do. He told me that he websynced it and that'd help. Let me show you the conversation between my and support.

Me: I said something about the FastDL not working.

Support: As for your Garrysmod issue, please make sure the files you uploaded and the files you are referencing are all in lowercase.

Me: about the Gmod issue, is the resource file suppose to be resource.add, resource.lua or resource.AddFile?

Support: The file name should be "resource.lua" or really whatever you want to name it, as long as it ends in .lua. The content inside should contain resource.AddFile. It should look something like this:

resource.AddFile("models/sf/block_3d_1x2.mdl")
resource.AddFile("materials/models/sf_block_black.vmt")

Me: > L 07/02/2013 - 17:22:30: Lua Error: 
> [ERROR] lua/autorun/server/resource.lua:60: 'end' expected (to close 'if' at
> line 1) near '<eof>'
> &nbsp; 1. unknown - lua/autorun/server/resource.lua:0
> &nbsp;That's the error I get, and this is how my file starts. . .
>
> i don't know if that's the one. it's in garrysmodlogs

Support: That looks to be the correct error. I would try removing your first line in your resource file that start with the "if" statement. Your formatting was a bit off. I corrected this and reuploaded the file to the server. Please restart it so it can read the new file. Restart your client.
It doesn't appear you actually ran a websync. This needs to be done so when the server request the file for the clients it can be downloaded over fastdl.

Me: Generally said: doesn't work

Support: I just ran it and just about all the files which aren't being force downloaded are being placed there. Please wait 15 minutes, reboot the server and try again. If you have any more questions or need any more assistance, please feel free to ask.

Me: i restarted it, nothing happened.

Support: According to the Apache access_log file, the files are being downloaded by players now. What problem are you still seeing, exactly? It is probably a problem with the mod, seeing as the files are being downloaded. I would suggest asking our forums for help with this, as they would probably be able to help you more.

If you can help thank you so much!
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by kraze »

Your resource files seems to be correct and should be working. What happens when you join the server? Are you prompted to download any files at all? If not, try deleting your custom content from your client side files and download a fresh copy from the server.

You may also want to post your server IP so others can connect and see if we are prompted to download the files.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
RobinHood
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by RobinHood »

kraze wrote:Your resource files seems to be correct and should be working. What happens when you join the server? Are you prompted to download any files at all? If not, try deleting your custom content from your client side files and download a fresh copy from the server.

You may also want to post your server IP so others can connect and see if we are prompted to download the files.
no i have like 15-20 people who play on my server, and they can't download it either. I will post the IP. And btw, which resource file is correct? The first one or the one withgyazo?
RobinHood
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by RobinHood »

Server IP: sabotagegaming.game.nfoservers.com:27015

or search sabotage gaming in your TTT filter.
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by kraze »

The one in your post seems to be correct. What is your download URL set to? Did you confirm the files you want to download are on the fastdl server?
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
RobinHood
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by RobinHood »

kraze wrote:The one in your post seems to be correct. What is your download URL set to? Did you confirm the files you want to download are on the fastdl server?
I set the download url to this: http://sabotagegaming.site.nfoservers.com/fastdl/ . . . Could you add me on skype or something, or can I tell you my teamview, i reall i need help.
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by kraze »

The download URL needs to be what is set by our system. That should be your domain.com/server. You can also run a websync and have it set this for you.

One thing you can try would be to delete all of your files off of your fastdl server and run a fresh sync.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
RobinHood
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by RobinHood »

kraze wrote:The download URL needs to be what is set by our system. That should be your domain.com/server. You can also run a websync and have it set this for you.

One thing you can try would be to delete all of your files off of your fastdl server and run a fresh sync.
I really don't know how to do this? So i delete EVERYTHING off my fastdl server. Then how do I, can you please tell me instructions. I'm confused. I kinda know what you mean, but I don't get it
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by kraze »

Delete everything from your fastdl server by connecting to FTP and deleting the "server" folder. Then go to the websync tab in your game servers control panel and click on "Sync files".
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
RobinHood
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by RobinHood »

kraze wrote:Delete everything from your fastdl server by connecting to FTP and deleting the "server" folder. Then go to the websync tab in your game servers control panel and click on "Sync files".
i deleted the fastdl too. It doesn't work, I did what you said.
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by kraze »

Have you confirmed fastdl is working with GMod? I haven't heard any issues with it lately but it is possible Garry broke it. You may try removing what you have and adding a map, upon connect if it force downloads it then you know the issue is with how we have the file setup.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
RobinHood
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by RobinHood »

kraze wrote:Have you confirmed fastdl is working with GMod? I haven't heard any issues with it lately but it is possible Garry broke it. You may try removing what you have and adding a map, upon connect if it force downloads it then you know the issue is with how we have the file setup.
there's nothing saying it doesn't work. Do you think you could look through my files, and see if everything's OK? if not, can I user teamviewer with you?
User avatar
kraze
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 4362
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by kraze »

Sticking with forum based support would be the best route. Even though nothing is saying it doesn't work it may be worth a try to rule it out.

I am running low on ideas but I am sure there are some more experienced Gmod admins which may be able to help you better than I can.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!
User avatar
J-English
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:06 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by J-English »

so i joined you`re server fine,connected ok etc....couldnt open my inventory because it will only let me stay in spec mode...countdown 00:00 and said waiting..
RobinHood
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: GMod 13 TTT FastDL Doesn't Work

Post by RobinHood »

J-English wrote:so i joined you`re server fine,connected ok etc....couldnt open my inventory because it will only let me stay in spec mode...countdown 00:00 and said waiting..
Becasue you were the only one in the server. . -_- You need 2 people to paly.
Post Reply