Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

joemurrell
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:04 am

Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by joemurrell » Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:16 am

With the new patch, looks like variable tick rates are now a thing (hurray!)

From the patch notes:
• Updated server & client code to support variable tick/simulation rates (featured)
• Added indicators for current server “tick rate”/simulation rate on loading screen (>30hz only) and deploy screen
That being said:

1) Will there be any increase in cost for servers from NFO for higher tick rate? Any difference in managed vs hosted machines?
2) How do I make the change on my server? I didn't see anything in the control panel yet.

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by kraze » Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:40 pm

It's something we'll have to test as it's very dependent on if it effects CPU usage or not.

Edit: Turns out the option is still disabled. This was in the updated documentation.
Added support for high tickrate (currently disabled, it will be enabled at a later date after
live testing is performed)
Documentation can be found here.
http://forums.nfoservers.com/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=9754
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by Edge100x » Tue Sep 01, 2015 7:25 pm

When EA/DICE allows this to be changed, we will be testing it further and go from there. If it significantly increases CPU usage, we would likely make it an optional add-on for an additional cost. In that case, those with managed dedicated servers would not have to pay anything extra because they manage their own resources.

stryfe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:02 am

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by stryfe » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:33 am

Hopefully this will be soon since they are testing now. My 2 servers at 60hz would be nice. Get rid of the high ping players that keep killing people behind cover.

stryfe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:02 am

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by stryfe » Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:07 pm

Are you guys testing now? I'd like to try it out with one of my servers.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by Edge100x » Thu Oct 01, 2015 1:37 pm

Tests are in progress with some dedicated server customers. We aren't currently running tests on standalone servers.

stryfe
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:02 am

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by stryfe » Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:25 pm

Okie, I'd be 100% willing to help out with it.

User avatar
PowersGaming
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by PowersGaming » Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:44 pm

Edge100x wrote:Tests are in progress with some dedicated server customers. We aren't currently running tests on standalone servers.
When this does become available to standalone servers (I'm referring to the real thing, not testing), how will we know ? Email maybe ?

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by Edge100x » Mon Oct 12, 2015 12:10 pm

We'll likely make another events log post when support has been fully integrated. For standalone servers, there will be an extra-cost order page option, and a selector will be added on one of the control panel pages that can be used to easily adjust the tickrate. Different sizes of servers will have different allowed maximum tickrates available here.

ripper
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:56 pm

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by ripper » Thu Oct 22, 2015 9:52 am

any update on pricing yet???

User avatar
PowersGaming
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by PowersGaming » Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:34 pm

I see the option available in the CP, but can't locate the "Acceleration" option on the "Order" page. Pretty excited about this; please let us know when it's ready.

ripper
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:56 pm

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by ripper » Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:52 am

anything on this yet?

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by kraze » Tue Oct 27, 2015 8:09 am

The order page has been updated to allow for the purchase of high tick servers.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

floold
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 6:22 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by floold » Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:04 pm

Order page and everything is there, but i only have the option to upgrade to a 40hz tickrate...? (64 players / 2 spectators)
Is 60hz coming to the standalone servers? Would really love to see the server in 60hz :)
Image
I smell weird since i waste my time on doing stuff with servers instead of taking a shower...
Promotional message: "this is the biggest shit server i've ever seen" - some random guy hosting a 'competing' server.

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Tick Rate Setting/Pricing

Post by kraze » Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:41 pm

There are limits in place for which servers can run a higher tickrate. Currently servers over 48 slots will be limited to a maximum of 40 ticks. Some smaller servers can go as high as 144. Managed VDS and dedicated server customers are welcome to override our limits, but really shouldn't as it will produce a poor playing environment.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

Post Reply