Server Banner URL

Froz3nTundra
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:28 pm
Location: Bozeman, MT
Contact:

Server Banner URL

Post by Froz3nTundra » Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:42 am

Will these work for BF4?
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by Edge100x » Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:18 pm

Nope.

User avatar
HoLyCoW
A regular
A regular
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:38 pm

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by HoLyCoW » Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:46 pm

I did a server banner for my server, and it shows up in Battlelog when you look at the detailed server info. However, a friend of mine said he couldn't see it. So maybe it's because I had typed in the direct url to the banner that it ended up getting cached into my browser? I dunno.

User avatar
Ruger
A regular
A regular
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:53 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by Ruger » Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:52 pm

HoLyCoW wrote:I did a server banner for my server, and it shows up in Battlelog when you look at the detailed server info. However, a friend of mine said he couldn't see it. So maybe it's because I had typed in the direct url to the banner that it ended up getting cached into my browser? I dunno.
Are you using BetterBattleLog? I know I can see servers that have the banner set up. Maybe your friend isnt using BBLog.

User avatar
HoLyCoW
A regular
A regular
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:38 pm

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by HoLyCoW » Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:13 pm

OH! That makes sense! Yeah, I'm using BBLog.

User avatar
b0wzy
A regular
A regular
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by b0wzy » Wed Oct 30, 2013 9:48 pm

Edge100x wrote:Nope.
Sorry thats not true. Join my server and see, it displays in the loading screen.
http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf4/se ... odes-Maps/

500x165 .jpg is the only way I've made it work so far, but it seems to stretch it out to a 760x168 image. I tried doing one in that res, but it didnt work.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by Edge100x » Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:19 pm

b0wzy, we were told that this was intentionally not going to be implemented, so I'm really surprised by that. I guess EA had a change of heart. I'll have to update the page!

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by TimSad » Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:43 pm

b0wzy wrote:
Edge100x wrote:Nope.
Sorry thats not true. Join my server and see, it displays in the loading screen.
http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf4/se ... odes-Maps/

500x165 .jpg is the only way I've made it work so far, but it seems to stretch it out to a 760x168 image. I tried doing one in that res, but it didnt work.
Woohoo! Thanks for the intel, b0wzy!
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by Edge100x » Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:31 pm

That's some darn fine detective work.

User avatar
TimSad
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by TimSad » Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:59 am

Hey, wait a minute! When I tried putting in a .jpg with a file size too large, it replaced it with the default NFO banner and I was able to see that on the loading screen. Had no one else ever had the default NFO banner set on their Easy Setup page to notice it on their server's loading screen until I just did?
                                                Our NFO Battlefield Servers!
ImageImage
Image

mkeller25
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:29 pm

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by mkeller25 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 5:35 am

Okay - what am I doing wrong here? Everything I've seen states that this image should work but it fails with "Your retrieved server banner was too large (over 127 KB), so the default NFO banner was used instead."

Except its not, the image is 25kb

Here are the properties of my image.
Image
Image

mkeller25
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:29 pm

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by mkeller25 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 5:42 am

Nevermind - the server just didn't like the link I was using.

The link was like this previously: http://forums.traditionsportsonline.com ... jpg.28411/

I just uploaded it to imgur so now the link that at least seemed to have worked is: http://i.imgur.com/2fBQrRh.jpg

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by Edge100x » Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:27 am

The manner that the system uses to download the banner is the same as how the game does it, so this saved you some time :).

This banner variable will likely be removed in the next game version.

eruffini
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:50 am

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by eruffini » Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:34 am

This isn't the first thing we've all discovered DICE has in the game, but will be removing or changing. What are these guys thinking?

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Server Banner URL

Post by Edge100x » Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:38 am

This one wasn't supposed to be in there in the first place, from what they have told us.

Post Reply