Punkbuster issues and config

Post Reply
BizSAR
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 11:10 pm

Punkbuster issues and config

Post by BizSAR » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:40 am

I'm hearing a lot of folks are having issues with Punkbuster as of late.

We'd like to disable PB for now, yet maintain our 'Ranked' status. I see this is possible, even for official servers. However, in the NFO control panel the setting seems locked while we're set to Ranked. Can we still make the change in startup.txt and have it work?
BizSAR

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Punkbuster issues and config

Post by kraze » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:05 am

This is actually not possible. Punkbuster is required to be on for Ranked/Official servers.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

BizSAR
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 11:10 pm

Re: Punkbuster issues and config

Post by BizSAR » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:34 am

I had thought so too, but then there's this list of servers that are ranked and have PB off, so it does in fact seem possible.

This is why I was asking. :)
BizSAR

User avatar
kraze
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Location: California

Re: Punkbuster issues and config

Post by kraze » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:37 am

That would represent a game bug in that case as ranked/official servers owners should not be able to disable that function.
@Kraze^NFo> Juski has a very valid point
@Juski> Got my new signature, thanks!
@Kraze^NFo> Out of context!
@Juski> Doesn't matter!
@Juski> You said I had a valid point! You can't take it back now! It's out there!

Post Reply