Pyschostats Themes

Post Reply
$eth
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:31 pm

Pyschostats Themes

Post by $eth »

hey Guys,

I have tried to read as much current information about this as possible but im still a little lost.

my main stats page is http://tgc.stats.nuclearfallout.net

just your basic stats page. what I would like to do is change the nuclearfallout.net banner at the top of the page to a custom Clan banner. If that is possible.

furthermore...i was potentially looking into changing the entire theme (i.e. maybe going to this blue theme here ... http://www.psychostats.com/contribs/vie ... itemid=137)

Anyways..the problem im having is that i experimented with this and noted the current banner within themes is NOT the nuclearfallout banner...so my replacing the banner with my custom clan banner picture didnt do anything.

If you could help me as to whether this is even possible i would appreciate it. I am some what of a newbie to so any detailed steps would be appreciated. Also...if you know of any additional customization ideas to the stats page that are cool I would really appreciate any information.

Thanks to all who even took the time to read this,

Seth
User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo »

1. You should follow my psychostats theme tutorial here.

2. Banner can be done through two methods. First method is replacing the banner.gif within the theme folder (probably theme/dep/images) with the same dimensions as the default image. Another method is editing the actual code in the header.html (located in theme folder).

Code: Select all

<td align="center"><a href="{$URLROOT}"><img src="{$conf.imagesurl}banner.gif" width="600" height="75" border="0"></a></td>
If nothing changed when you replaced the banner.gif, its possible your browser has it cached. Make sure you refresh and/or clear cache if needed.
-Nick
$eth
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:31 pm

Post by $eth »

Nick|NFo wrote:1. You should follow my psychostats theme tutorial here.

2. Banner can be done through two methods. First method is replacing the banner.gif within the theme folder (probably theme/dep/images). Another method is editing the actual code in the header.html (located in theme folder).

Code: Select all

<td align="center"><a href="{$URLROOT}"><img src="{$conf.imagesurl}banner.gif" width="600" height="75" border="0"></a></td>
Hey Nick...I read your theme tutorial before posting...thanks for such a detailed layout by the way. But it seems to be unrelated to the theme/dep/psweb/images i have. specificallly, in that directory the banner.gif shows a red banner that says "pyschostats" with a gun. Yet the banner displayed on our stats page is your nuclearfallout.net banner as seen directly above here in the forums. Perhaps this html header routing is the key...maybe its pointed to that banner.

i appreciate the information and will look into it...thanks for the quick response...you guys have some great information on here.

P.S. This is sort of a side issue but i am also in the same clan with [YG]Sgt.Extreme. He posted earlier in the month regarding skins on our server. http://rentalforums.nuclearfallout.net/ ... php?t=2756

We are using beetlesmod and have the latest updates...but we have been unable to view the phoenix faction and gign default skins now for over 2 months. apparently beetlesmod will only allow the server to show the guerilla and seal skins. the new skins just released...also do not appear.

anyways..my question is your thoughts regarding mods for your servers. I desperately want to switch to mani mod because i have seen other servers run very smooth with this mod and the skins appear fine. Do you have any knowledge or reason to suspect that beetlesmod is definitely worth scrapping?? I'm looking for some expertise advice that i can take to my clan and push forward with the mod switch. this skins issue has been a big one already
$eth
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:31 pm

Post by $eth »

Hey Nick,

I copied this out of my header.html file:

{strip}
<table border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr><td>&nbsp;</td></tr>
<tr>
<td align="center"><a href="{$URLROOT}"><img src="{$conf.imagesurl}banner.gif" width="600" height="75"

The thing to note is that it appears to be pointed to my dep/images/banner.gif which as i mentioned is a red picture saying psychostats by stormtrooper. Yet on my main stats page...here is the description of the banner at the top: http://tgc.stats.nuclearfallout.net/images/banner.gif

also note that the pixels for this banner are 391 X 90

so it appears that my tgc.stats.nuclearfallout.net page is pulling this nuclearfallout.net banner from somewhere using code that i cant seem to find in the header.html page

any thoughts??
User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo »

Thats because currently your config has its imageurl setup to the /images/ directory

Code: Select all

$conf['imagesurl']      = '/images/';
There are several ways to get around that, like put the banner.gif into that and don't worry about it. You could change the images directory to something else, or you could just edit the html and not use

Code: Select all

<img src="{$conf.imagesurl}banner.gif"
and instead use

Code: Select all

<img src="http://tgc.stats.nuclearfallout.net/images/banner.gif"
or whatever subdirectory you want it in
-Nick
$eth
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:31 pm

Post by $eth »

Hey Nick..

Thanks for your help.

I have no idea why our crap is so convoluted on our webspace. seems like we have duplicate folders everywhere.... (images, themes, etc.)
$eth
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:31 pm

Post by $eth »

Nick|NFo wrote:Thats because currently your config has its imageurl setup to the /images/ directory

Code: Select all

$conf['imagesurl']      = '/images/';
There are several ways to get around that, like put the banner.gif into that and don't worry about it. You could change the images directory to something else, or you could just edit the html and not use

Code: Select all

<img src="{$conf.imagesurl}banner.gif"
and instead use

Code: Select all

<img src="http://tgc.stats.nuclearfallout.net/images/banner.gif"
or whatever subdirectory you want it in
Well i tried to do your latter point. And its still not working for me.

Basically i created a 600 x 90 pixel banner.jpg file and placed it at http://www.monsterserveronline.com/images/banner.jpg that's our webspace.

Then i took the header.html file and edited the code to say <img src="www.monsterserveronline.com/images/banner.jpg width=600 height=90> and ftp'd it back to its directory.

nothing changed. does it have to wait for an update???
User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo »

I have changed it for you now. If you can't see the change, you need to refresh your browser. The image looks good :)
-Nick
$eth
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:31 pm

Post by $eth »

Nick|NFo wrote:I have changed it for you now. If you can't see the change, you need to refresh your browser. The image looks good :)
Nick you are the man..i just did and it was there...thought i did it but then i thought..."hmm better check the forums cause Nick is cool enough to prob do it for me".

hey also as a side note...and i hate to be picky....but i updated in the header.html file (which apparently didnt work cause u fixed it) that the image would also go to our website http://www.monsterserveronline.com instead of nuclearfallout.net

if thats allowed can you help me do it...if its not then i understand.

but man thanks again dude...you are the man...seriously...

as an aside (anyway u could pm me or post to me how u did it so that i can fix it in the future?? or is it something u have to do?)

thx again bro,

Seth
User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo »

Code: Select all

<td align="center"><a href="http://www.monsterserveronline.com"><img src="http://www.monsterserveronline.com/images/banner.jpg" width=600 height=90 border="0"></a></td>
I made that edit in the header.html in /themes/psweb/

Make sure that if you edit it, the file gets uploaded back to the FTP. Sometimes the user forgets to upload it back, some ftp clients do not automatically if you directly edit it. I did not see any change to the file when I edited it.
-Nick
$eth
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:31 pm

Post by $eth »

Nick|NFo wrote:

Code: Select all

<td align="center"><a href="http://www.monsterserveronline.com"><img src="http://www.monsterserveronline.com/images/banner.jpg" width=600 height=90 border="0"></a></td>
I made that edit in the header.html in /themes/psweb/

Make sure that if you edit it, the file gets uploaded back to the FTP. Sometimes the user forgets to upload it back, some ftp clients do not automatically if you directly edit it. I did not see any change to the file when I edited it.
Hey Nick...maybe the confusion for me...i was editing the header.html file thats in compile/themes/psweb

like i said..for some reason we have alot of duplicate crap on there..weird

but thanks again for all of your help!

Seth
User avatar
Nick|NFo
Former staff
Former staff
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by Nick|NFo »

That is just the compile directory. That is where your logs go before they are parsed as well where your configuration settings can be set (stats.cfg). Your updates every morning checks through this folder. It is nothing to worry about and the duplicates are there for a reason.
-Nick
Post Reply