I need help setting up a minecraft server for my VPS

Waveidz
New to forums
New to forums
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA

I need help setting up a minecraft server for my VPS

Post by Waveidz »

Hi I am new to making Minecraft Servers, I have looked at some old posts but some of the links don't work anymore. I am not sure where to start and would appreciate any advice!
Vanderburg
Former staff
Former staff

Re: I need help setting up a minecraft server for my VPS

Post by Vanderburg »

You can install the Java 8 JDK for Linux using the following commands:

Code: Select all

add-apt-repository ppa:webupd8team/java
apt-get update
apt-get install oracle-java8-installer
You can then get the minecraft installer with this:

Code: Select all

mkdir minecraft
cd minecraft
wget https://s3.amazonaws.com/Minecraft.Download/versions/1.12/minecraft_server.1.12.jar
You can replace the 1.12 (in both places!) with whatever version you want. It also has you put the server in its own folder, because that's just a good idea.

The rest of the guide in the knowledgebase guide will work for setting up the server (found here: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=5049) I can work on updating that guide, as well.
francois23
New to forums
New to forums

Post by francois23 »

Thanks for the information.
Davidmenk3
New to forums
New to forums

Post by Davidmenk3 »

Waveidz wrote: Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:06 am Hi I am new to making Minecraft Servers, I have looked at some old posts but some of the links don't work anymore. I am not sure where to start and would appreciate any advice!
Hey there! Welcome to the world of Minecraft server hosting! Getting started can be a bit confusing, but don't worry, I've got you covered.