New to server hosting, just have some questions

Ask questions about dedicated servers here and we and other users will do our best to answer them. Please also refer to the self-help section for tutorials and answers to the most commonly asked questions.
LongBottomLeaf
New to forums
New to forums
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA

New to server hosting, just have some questions

Post by LongBottomLeaf »

Howdy! Like the title says I am new to server hosting, my goal is to host a 32 player TF2 trading server with a custom map and lots of different plugins. I am familiar with what is needed to host a server, just not... what to do to set it up or intergrade plugins and server config for NFO hosted servers. Or even what kind of server would be best, DS or VDS, etc. So I guess I am mainly wondering how much is handled by the NFO control panel, and really just the basics of getting a server up and running. Any resources or suggestions would be appreciated! Cheers
TimeX
Staff
Staff

Re: New to server hosting, just have some questions

Post by TimeX »

If you plan on running only one server, I recommend going with a regular, by-the-slot server rental and not a VDS or DS. It is more cost-effective that way, and will have higher potential performance than a virtualized server would.

As for customizing it, some options and configs can be edited directly from our control panel. Other things, like maps and addons, can be uploaded through FTP access, with the login information for that also contained in the control panel.

All that said, I'm not familiar with the setup of TF2 trading servers specifically, so I'm not able to give any advice specific to that. Perhaps others can share some advice in that regard.
TimeX
LongBottomLeaf
New to forums
New to forums

Post by LongBottomLeaf »

For now I plan on running just the one server so thanks!