[TF2] Replays not working?

Post Reply
canti
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 3:19 am

[TF2] Replays not working?

Post by canti » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:37 pm

TF2 Replays suddenly stopped working on my server today. Set it all up yesterday using this tutorial and everything was working just fine. At one point I tried to change the directory on the site where replays are stored (and then updated the replay.cfg with the correct information) and around that same time a server update for TF2 was pushed out. Unfortunately I wasn't in-game during any of this so I couldn't see exactly when the Replay function broke or which one of the changes caused it to stop working.

Code: Select all

*********************************************************************************
00:11:09 * TESTING REPLAY SYSTEM CONFIGURATION...
00:11:09 *** Testing Fileserver ConVars (replay_fileserver_*)...*
00:11:09 * Protocol: http
00:11:09 * Validating...................................
00:11:09 OK
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 * Hostname: nocrit.site.nfoservers.com
00:11:09 * Validating...................................
00:11:09 OK
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 * Port: 80
00:11:09 * Validating...................................
00:11:09 OK
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 * Path: /replays
00:11:09 * Validating...................................
00:11:09 OK
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 * If clients can't access the following URL via a Web
00:11:09 * browser, they will not be able to download Replays.
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 * URL: http://nocrit.site.nfoservers.com:80/replays/
00:11:09 *** Testing File I/O...*
00:11:09 * Temp path: C:\servers\nocrit\tf\replay\server\tmp\
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 * Opening temp file............................
00:11:09 OK
00:11:09 * Allocating test buffer.......................
00:11:09 OK
00:11:09 * Writing temp file............................
00:11:09 OK
00:11:09 *** Testing file publisher...*
00:11:09 * Fileserver type: Local Web server
00:11:09 * Path:
00:11:09 * Validating...................................
00:11:09 FAILED
00:11:09 *** ** ERROR: Empty path not allowed.*
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 server_cvar: "sv_tags" "HLstatsX:CE,cp,koth,nocrits,nodmgspread"
00:11:09 server_cvar: "sv_tags" "HLstatsX:CE,cp,koth,nocrits,nodmgspread"
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 * FAILURE - REPLAY DISABLED! "replay_enable" is now 0.
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 *
00:11:09 * Address any failures above and re-exec replay.cfg.
00:11:09 *********************************************************************************
This is the error I get in my server console every time I try to exec replay.cfg. I even went as far as wiping my game server entirely and then only configured the replay.cfg with nothing else possibly conflicting with it, same exact error.

canti
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 3:19 am

Re: [TF2] Replays not working?

Post by canti » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:45 pm

Also, my replay.cfg:

Code: Select all

// Enable replay!
replay_enable "1"

// How often we dump replay data. You should not need to modify this value.
replay_block_dump_interval "15"

// This is the method by which clients download replay data. At the moment, only HTTP is available.
replay_fileserver_protocol "http"

// Offload using FTP. Do not use a local web server. DO NOT EDIT THIS LINE.
replay_fileserver_offload_enable "1"

//
// YOU MUST EDIT THE CONVARS BELOW THIS LINE.
//

// These are used to reconstruct a URL on the client.
replay_fileserver_host "nocrit.site.nfoservers.com"
replay_fileserver_port "80"
replay_fileserver_path "/replays"

// Your FTP info. This data is private and not shared with the client.
replay_fileserver_offload_protocol "ftp"
replay_fileserver_offload_hostname "nocrit.site.nfoservers.com"
replay_fileserver_offload_port "21"
replay_fileserver_offload_remotepath "/public/replays"
replay_fileserver_offload_login "nocrit"
replay_fileserver_offload_password "*********"
replay_fileserver_offload_maxuploads "5"

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: [TF2] Replays not working?

Post by Edge100x » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:19 am

It sounds like TF2 may have a new bug that is causing it to ignore your replay_fileserver_offload_enable definition. It (understandably) gets upset that replay_local_fileserver_path isn't defined in that case.

You might try moving the offload cvars higher in the configuration -- perhaps to the top.

User avatar
Edge100x
Founder
Founder
Posts: 12219
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: [TF2] Replays not working?

Post by Edge100x » Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:16 am

It looks like Valve removed the offload options entirely -- hopefully by mistake. I have posted to the mailing list to ask about this.

scoliono
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:59 pm

Re: [TF2] Replays not working?

Post by scoliono » Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:41 am

Have you heard back from them yet?

DarkPyro
New to forums
New to forums
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 12:18 pm
Contact:

Re: [TF2] Replays not working?

Post by DarkPyro » Fri Jun 02, 2017 4:04 pm

They've updated the game probably 6 times since replay broke in March, which is extremely annoying and upsets me that they continue to ignore it being broken.

What worked for me was getting the an old version of the replay.dll (located in bin/replay.dll in the server) prior to the update that broke the replay convars and replacing the newer, broken dll. Unfortunately, NFO doesn't allow this for their managed servers. But, if you have an unmanaged VDS, you can do this without any problems.

Here's a link to the old dll: https://www.dropbox.com/s/tsfsdqqyvpiil ... y.dll?dl=0
Image
Image

LittleB
This is my homepage
This is my homepage
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 4:14 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: [TF2] Replays not working?

Post by LittleB » Sat Jun 02, 2018 6:04 pm

Any update on a fix for this :?:
Image

Post Reply