Looking for Big Brother Bot (B3) users on a VDS

Ask questions about dedicated servers here and we and other users will do our best to answer them. Please also refer to the self-help section for tutorials and answers to the most commonly asked questions.
wally
A semi-regular
A semi-regular
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC40BgXanDqOYoVCYFDSTfHA

Looking for Big Brother Bot (B3) users on a VDS

Post by wally »

Hello everyone,

I am new to NFO. I'm having issues at the moment with B3 running on the 2 CoD4 game servers I am running here and I am looking to see if anyone else here is running a VDS, CoD4, and also B3.

Prior to my move to NFO, I used to be on a linux dedicated server, and ran both of the B3 instances on 2 CoD4 game servers without a problem, even after moving IP's (with the same GSP.)

At the moment, I have a managed-VDS, 2 CoD4 servers, and both experience the same issue. The B3 bot starts just fine. I am able to see B3 starting in-game. The problem is, it doesn't immediately give me an output when I enter any command. It usually takes anywhere from 2-5 minutes, and sometimes it doesn't even give an output.

After some testing between the B3 host and I, our best guess is that the game server log file isn't syncing immediately as it should. It does the exact same thing on both servers. My B3 host has even gone as far as creating a new database for B3 - all the changes return the same delay.

We've also changed from 2 to 1 (as suggested by B3 forums) in g_logsync with the same results.
// Log Settings
set g_logsync 2 // 0=no log, 1=buffered, 2=continuous, 3=append
set logfile 1 // 0 = NO log, 1 = log file enabled
set g_log "games_mp.log" // Name of log file, default is games_mp.log
set sv_log_damage 1

To recap, the only change I have done is gone from a Linux dedi machine to a Windows VDS.

It would be greatly appreciated with any input.

Thanks in advance,
Wally
Edge100x
Founder
Founder

Re: Looking for Big Brother Bot (B3) users on a VDS